Jill Dunn

FMCSA wins case, pilot program with Mexico to continue

The cross-border trucking pilot program with Mexico will continue, as a federal court has ruled against both cases filed by the Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association against the program.

Read More

Massachusetts carrier to appeal refusal-to-drive case

A former employee of a Massachusetts carrier ordered to pay a fired driver $131,533 says that now-defunct company is appealing a federal agency’s conclusion that the dismissal was a wrongful firing.

Read More

‘Hot fuel’ cases hit with second punch

The judge presiding over the multi-district “hot fuel” litigation has ruled in favor of Chevron regarding California plaintiffs, marking the second hot fuel case retailers have won in the last year.

Read More

Carrier ordered to pay back wages, rehire driver fired for refusing to drive over hours

A federal agency has ordered a Massachusetts carrier pay a driver $131,533 after firing him for refusing to drive after reaching the federal limit on hours.

Read More

Pilot program expands, some Mexican carriers issued out-of-service orders

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's cross-border trucking pilot program is about to get a 13th participant. Some participant trucks and drivers have been orders OOS recently.

Read More

House bill would increase trucking insurance minimum by millions

A bill referred to the House's transportation committee last week would raise the minimum insurance required by trucking companies from $750,000 to $4,422,000.

Read More

Broker organization sues over hike in bond requirement

AIPBA alleges FMCSA violation of the Administrative Procedure Act, given the agency did not conduct rulemaking to raise the minimum required broker bond from $10K to $75K, slated to go into effect October 1.

Read More

Connecticut truckers welcome owner-operator law

A new Connecticut law dealing with independent contractor status is being embraced by owner-operator advocates.

Read More

Hours-of-service break requirement top issue with new regs, enforcers say

Though it's too soon to know exactly how enforcement of the new hours-of-service regulations are faring, the enforcement community to this point has noticed some confusion and many questions regarding the required 30-minute break.

Read More

Oregon legislature passes limited road user fee bill

Oregon’s legislature has become the first nationwide to approve a voluntary road user fee for drivers of vehicles weighing less than 10,000 pounds. Democrat Gov. John Kitzhaber reportedly is expected to sign the legislation that will charge participants 1.5 cents per mile instead of the state’s gas tax of 30 cents per gallon. On July 7, the Senate voted 24-6 in favor of the bill to establish the program after the House approved it by a ...

Read More