NEVADA. The state, the 34th to do so, will prohibit talking or texting on a cell phone while driving, beginning Jan. 1. Law enforcement will commence warnings Oct. 1. Fines will be $100 for the first offense, up to $200 for the second offense and up to $250 for the third offense.
NEW MEXICO. A rule change provides special permits to operate overweight trucks up to 96,000 pounds for specified breakdown loads within six miles of a port of entry on the Mexican border. Commercial vehicles in Mexico operate under different weight limits from trucks operating in New Mexico.
OREGON. A statewide idling law takes effect Jan. 1. Commercial vehicles are limited to five minutes an hour of idling on property open to the public, though there are exceptions for outside temperature and other variables. Violators will face $180 fines.
TEXAS. Highways speeds as high as 85 mph have been signed into law in the state. One new law allows highways built after June to post an 85 mph speed limit as long as engineering supports the speed. Another new law ups to 80 mph the speed limit for all vehicles on 520 miles of Interstates 10 and 20 in West Texas. Speed limit on most rural highways is 75 mph.
WISCONSIN. The state’s Department of Safety and Professional Services is targeting owner-operators and small fleets for grants covering half the cost of idling-reduction equipment. Applicants must be based in the state and pay at least half the cost of each idling-reduction device. Trucks must have a 1999 model year or newer engine.