New ‘Ice Road’ premiers June 3 sans Kelly, Sieber

| May 22, 2012

Canadian IRT drivers Rick Yemm, Hugh Rowland and Alex Debogorski will drive the ice roads in Manitoba in the upcoming season.

The sixth season of the History Channel’s Ice Road Truckers series is set to start Sunday, June 3. Absent this season are the popular Lisa Kelly and last season’s famed rookie Maya Sieber.

The all-male cast includes IRT veterans Hugh Rowland, Rick Yemm, Alex Debogorski and Jack Jessee, and they’ll take on show newcomers Darrell Ward, Austin Wheeler and Ron Mangum.

Last season, the Americans took on the Dalton Highway in Alaska, while the Canadian drivers handled the ice roads of Manitoba.

In the coming season, it looks as though they’ll do the same, and, according to a History Channel promo, “oil exploration is at an all-time high, and Carlile drivers are preparing for the business season in Dalton history,” adding the drivers will try to make it past Prudhoe Bay and head into remote oil fields in the North Slope.

In Manitoba, though, warmer weather has made the roads “barely passable,” History says, “and every driver will be forced to battle the thinnest ice the winter roads have ever seen.”

Episodes will air Sundays 9 p.m. ET/PT and 8 p.m. CT during the summer.

There is one comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *