California

The crazy quilt of intrastate hours logging and ELD mandates

States failing to adopt an e-logging mandate. Hours of service regs differing from the federal rule. ELDs missing state-specific features. For the intrastate driver required to use e-logs, the change could get complicated.

Read More

Florida legislature eyeing December 2018 ELD deadline for intrastate carriers, California uncertain

Florida's move for its sizable intrastate market follows that of Texas, which adopted a December 2019 date for the ELD requirements for intrastate carriers. California Highway Patrol reps, meanwhile, note they're yet uncertain on an intrastate ELD mandate there.

Read More

Tennessee, California set to raise fuel taxes

Tennessee's diesel tax will increase by 10 cents over the next three years, while California's diesel prices will jump 20 cents later this year.

Read More

POLL: Interstate/intrastate — Which hours of service rule do you operate within?

What's the nature of your operation when it comes to hours of service -- are you running under the primary U.S. hours rules (irrespective of niche-specific variants like oilfield), a combination of U.S./Canadian rules, one of the various intrastate parameters or short-haul exceptions?

Read More

California Senate committee hearing will discuss lemon law change proposal to cover trucks May 9

The hearing in Sacramento takes up changes proposed in Senate Bill 713 that would expand California's lemon law to cover vehicles heavier than 10,000 lbs. and include other modifications relative to business-size exclusions for the owners of such vehicles, mileage limitations and more.

Read More

Bill would expand California lemon law to cover commercial trucks

SB 713 would modify the current California lemon law to newly apply to trucks heavier than 10,000 lbs. and under the operation of a business, without size exclusions, up to 18 months from the date of delivery or 100,000 miles of operation, whichever comes first.

Read More

Penske settles with drivers in case over unpaid meal and rest breaks

Penske will pay 344 current and former drivers $15,000 each to settle the now 8-year-old case. The case produced a landmark ruling in 2014 regarding state-level laws regarding drivers' pay and breaks, prompting concern from carriers about the potential for similar lawsuits.

Read More

California bill would add behind-the-wheel training minimum for new truckers

The bill would require 30 hours of driving for a Class A CDL. The bill would restore the requirements proposed by FMCSA last May but not adopted in the agency's final driver training standards rule published in December. But they'd only apply to California-based applicants.

Read More

High profile California truck crash under federal investigation

Based on tire conditions NTSB said the bus was out-of-compliance with Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance inspection standards.

Read More

‘Border effect’ on inspections: Update

Among the four states on the U.S.-Mexico border, inspection numbers overall are among the highest in the nation. All four states rank in the top 10 for inspection intensity.

Read More