Starting June 11, West Virginia’s anti-idling rule will require operators of diesel-powered vehicles weighing more than 10,000 pounds to idle no more than 15 minutes an hour.
Violators will face fines between $150 and $300.
Also, vehicle owners and owners or operators of locations where vehicles load and unload also face fines for violations.
Exceptions to the time limit rule apply when temperatures are under 40 degrees or higher than 75 degrees. The exception applies only at locations where trucks are legally permitted to park, such as truck terminals, truck stops and rest areas if idle-reduction equipment is unavailable. The temperature exemption is scheduled to expire May 1, 2012.
Also exempt are drivers who are idling their trucks while sleeping or resting. Exceptions also include when vehicles are stuck in traffic, required by law enforcement to stop or when idling to operate defrosters, heaters, air conditioners or cargo refrigeration equipment.
Trucks that carry a California Air Resources Board label that shows the vehicle’s engine meets the optional NOx idling-emission standard also are exempt.
The new state law increases the maximum gross vehicle, axle, tandem or bridge formula weight limits by up to 400 pounds for trucks equipped with idle-reduction technology.
Affected tractors are equipped with an automated Eaton UltraShift Plus or Eaton Advantage Transmission with right hand stalk shifter. In the affected trucks, the display on the instrument panel can indicate “N” when the shifter is set into “D” or “R,” causing the truck not to move.