Final Showdown

James Jaillett | October 01, 2011

In the Limited Mileage Bobtail category, Randy Stroup’s 1986 Peterbilt 359 won Best of Show and the National Championship series. First in Class – the showpiece of Stroup’s Lewisport, Ky.-based First Class Services fleet – was built in 2007 by collaborators from Stroup’s shop, Ontario-based 12 Ga. Customs and Outlaw Customs in Henderson, Colo.

Ready for the finals Each of the previous four Pride & Polish events produced four Best of Show winners: Working Bobtail, Working Combo, Limited Mileage Bobtail, Limited Mileage Combo. Those 16 winners were staged separately from the other competitors at Dallas for the National Championship Series judging. Among those prior winners were these: (above) Vinnie Diorio’s orange 2003 Peterbilt 379 and Mike Hug’s 2007 Peterbilt 379 qualified at the 75 Chrome Shop’s show in Wildwood, Fla., in April; (below) Ron Huey’s 2010 International ProStar, right, won a Best of Show in Wildwood, too, and Isaac Aguilar’s 1992 Peterbilt 379 won Best of Show at the Great West Truck Show in Las Vegas in June.

Audrie Lynn, a King Ranch-themed 2003 Peterbilt 379 shown by Bruce Smith of Kilgore, Texas, won Best of Show Working Bobtail.

The 2012 National Championship series began last month at the Truckin’ for Kids show in Irwindale, Calif., and continues at the Charlotte Diesel Super Show in North Carolina, Oct. 7-8. The last event prior to the 2012 GATS finale will be in June at the Great West Truck Show in Las Vegas. Trucks that win Best of Show at next year’s GATS do qualify for the 2012 National Championship judging.

Pride & Polish National Championship winners


Bill Sandvik,

2005 Peterbilt 379


Jonathan Eilen,

2010 Peterbilt 389


Randy Stroup,

1986 Peterbilt 359


Paul Voigt,

1999 Peterbilt 379


To see interviews with the National Championship truck owners and other videos of Pride & Polish trucks, visit and find the video player on the homepage.

For the complete list of winners, visit

Pride & Polish sponsors

• Freightliner

• Mobil Delvac

• Firestone

• Chevron

• Bad Ass Custom Truck Parts

• Hogebuilt

• Lincoln Chrome

• America’s Independent Truckers Association

• Elizabeth Truck Center

• Traktr Chrome

• Performance Diesel Inc.

• Howes Lubricator

• SAI Super Alloy

• Swift

• Minimizer

• Truckin for Kids

• 75 Chrome Shop strives to maintain an open forum for reader opinions. Click here to read our comment policy.