Recent Comments

Fleet Focus

| December 01, 2010

West Side offers $1,000 bonus

Newly hired company drivers and owner-operators are being paid $1,000 sign-on bonuses, West Side Transport announced. The dry van fleet is based in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.


Averitt Express, based in Cookeville, Tenn., won 2010 Quest for Quality awards from Logistics Management magazine in the South/South Central Regional less-than-Truckload and Third-Party Logistics categories . . . Fort Dodge, Iowa-based Decker Truck Line Inc. drivers Brian Samuelson and Dan Stuhr are September Drivers of the Month for flatbed and reefer-van divisions, respectively. . . .  Cedar Rapids, Iowa-based CRST Expedited honored John Kramer for safely driving 2 million miles and Louis Hofheinz, Stephen Reno, Joseph Sale and Luciano Ramos for 1 million miles. Drivers honored in the first half of 2010 were Cynthia Ballard and Christopher Kelley, lead driver; George Martin, James Barrett, Patricia Bedford and Patrick Carney, co-drivers; Steven Green and Earl Savage, new lead driver; Gary Yeary and Alicia Yeary, Juan Lopez and Jesus Diaz, new teams; Michael Lesassier and James Dodson, lead independent contractors; Paul Hart and Betty Parker, solo independent contractors; Levy Delee and Angela Delee, Martin Connel and Michelle Schauer, team independent contractors.


Crete Carrier Corp., based in Lincoln, Neb., and sister company Shaffer Trucking recently increased starting driver pay 3 cents per practical mile. n

Cummins Redefining Tour – Driver Reactions and Future Tour Dates

Notice: Overdrive is transitioning to a new comment platform due to technical problems with the former commenting system. The new commenting system is now live. We are currently in the process of moving all of the comments from the old system into the new system. We appreciate your patience in the meantime.