Fleet insider

| July 03, 2007

Trucker Buddy of the Month
Brenda Meacham, who hauls for Carolina Southern Trucking, has been named Trucker Buddy Driver of the Month for April 2007.

In 2006, Meacham celebrated her own birthday by giving bicycles to her “buddies” at Latham Elementary in Winston-Salem, N.C. In 2007, with the help of her fleet, Meacham gave the students laptop computers. Meacham also has donated dictionaries, thesauruses, notebooks, pencils and erasers to her adopted classroom.

A Trucker Buddy since 2004, Meacham credits her good works to lessons learned from her father, a Baptist minister.

Each Trucker Buddy Driver of the Month receives a personalized jacket, a $300 check to spend on the class and $200 in Trucker Buddy merchandise, compliments of program sponsor ACS MultiMedia. Drivers of the Month also receive an IdleAire adapter, a Koolatron cooler and a complete set of Airtabs for their tractor or trailer, while owner-operators receive a set of steer tires from Continental. The driver’s class also receives a CrossCountry USA game from Ingenuity Works to help them learn more about how trucks move freight across the continent.

For more information on Trucker Buddy, visit the Trucker Buddy website or call (800) MY-BUDDY.

March Driver
Warren Transport Inc. has selected owner-operator Roger Hilgerson as its March Driver of the Month. Hilgerson has been an owner-operator for nearly 34 years, logging more than a million miles.

Fleet Award
Barnett Transportation Inc. recently won a Gold Award from Great West Casualty Co. as part of the insurer’s 2006 National Fleet Safety Awards Program. It was the fourth consecutive year for an award to Barnett. Barnett is headquartered in Tuscaloosa, Ala., with terminals in Savannah, Ga., and Jacksonville and Tampa, Fla.

Bull Dog Award Winner
CTL Transportation LLC named Jim Probstas its April 2007 Bull Dog. Probstas is a professional tractor technician based at CTL’s East St. Louis, Ill., terminal. The Bull Dog Award, which is presented to acknowledge an employee’s character, integrity and performance or improvement in performance, is the most prestigious honor given to CTL employees.

25-Year Safe Driver Award
Jim Kuczynski recently received Beverage Distributors Co.’s first 25-year Safe Driver Award. BDC and MHC Truck Leasing-Denver jointly presented the award to Kuczynski. To qualify for the award, Kuczynski had to have no preventable accidents. John Slater, transportation manager, says Kuczynski – who has been employed with BDC since 1965 – is an asset to the company. “His experience is what sets him apart,” Slater says. “Jim is able to recognize hazards due to years of experience, and he is able to navigate those hazards and make it through each and every day safely.”

KLLM Drivers
Four drivers from KLLM Transport Services won top awards at the Mississippi Trucking Association’s Truck Driving Championships, the 37th annual for the Mississippi Trucking Association.

Drivers Bill Fambro, Tim Gillette, Steve Jones and Kevin Lavespere won awards in their respective categories. Fambro won first place in the tanker division. Gillette won first place in the three-axle division. Jones won first place in the five-axle sleeper division. Lavespere placed third in the flatbed division.

The Mississippi Truck Driving Championship was held at the Lee County Agricultural Complex in Tupelo. More than 100 drivers from companies and transportation carriers across the state participated in the event.

Individual winners advanced to the National Truck Driving Championship, Aug. 21-25 in Minneapolis.

Decker Drivers of the Month
Decker Truck Line selected Dale Leman as its April 2007 Driver of the Month for the company’s flatbed division. Stephen Abbott was selected as the April 2007 Driver of the Month in the reefer/van division.

Comments are closed.

OverdriveOnline.com strives to maintain an open forum for reader opinions. Click here to read our comment policy.