Fleet Insider

| May 03, 2005

Solo company drivers can now earn up to 40 cents per mile, and company teams can now earn up to 46 cents per mile, depending on level of experience.

Dawes Transport: Dawes Transport is improving its owner-operator compensation package to increase retention and recruitment.

The package now has a safety bonus pool of more than $850,000, lane mileage pay has been increased 11 percent, and route and circuitous pay has been increased 33 percent.

Dawes also increased direct drop pay by 50 percent for weight categories less than 10,000 pounds and reduced the backhaul fees for selected lanes.

Dawes is currently developing a (401)K plan for independent contractors.

Melton: Starting this month, all Melton Truck Lines drivers will receive a 3-cent-per-mile increase in compensation.

The raise will be spread over May, June and July and should give drivers an annual boost of more than $3,500 per year.

By the end of July, Melton’s top company driver will be making 47 cents per mile – including the $40 tarp pay and 1-cent-per-mile safety bonus.

Transcarriers: Memphis, Tenn.-based Transcarriers Inc. recently announced the largest pay increase in its history. Company drivers starting range jumped from 30-33 cents per mile to 33-36 cents per mile. Owner-operators pay rates were increased to 86 cents per mile and 100 percent of the fuel surcharge.

Arnold Awards
Arnold Transportation recently honored 66 drivers who achieved at least two years of 100 percent on-time service. The award-winning drivers received a bonus check from management at an awards luncheon.

The Arnold drivers are: Chris Albright, Jerry Brock, Richard Ross, Dennis Hasse, Robie Petty, Carol Amburn, German Pacheco, Fred Sullivan, Frank Weber, Jules Scuderi, Gino Appleberry, Claude Bennett, Edward Bosket, Frank Cobbs, Ed Congleton, Cleborne Gaskin, Mike Hensley, James Ladson, Bruce Lehman, Charles Lovette, Charles Merine, Davy Powe, Charles Powell, Husher Smith, Robert Whitlock, Robert Benson, Harold Carder, Michael Clark, George Gilbert, Charles Hartwell, James Hoffman, William Kato, Joseph Kidd, Larry Longwell, Robert Lytch, Leonard Martin, Tim McCreary, Samuel Moore, Aldo Myers, Tommy Myers, Daniel Nunnikhoven, Tom Randall, William Spotts, Emanuel Taylor, Gale Verwiebe, Cecil Watkins, Wayne Wheeler, James Ballou, Ed Bearce, Wayne Bruce, Jerry Burrows, Bruce Dissinger, Ralph Gass, Earl Gilkes, Tom Halye, Henry Meade, Kelly Young, Leon Hostetter, James Harris, Jeff Kellar, Thomas Roberts, Alex Krykhtin, Kurt Bush, Laverne Lightfoot, William Unger and Joel Evans.

Prime Drivers
Prime Inc. announced its 2004 Contractors of the Year awards. The company names one driver from each of its three divisions – flatbed, tanker and refrigerated – as well as an overall top team and individual driver.

The flatbed division Contractor of the Year is Archie McCourt, who has been with Prime Inc. for 11 years.

The tanker division Contractor of the Year is Veranda Wilcox-Hall, who has been with Prime for 15 years.

The refrigerated division Contractor of the Year is Russell Antes.

David and Barbara Call were named the Driver Team of the Year, and Herman Knight was honored as the Individual Contractor of 2004. The Calls have five and a half years of driving experience, while Knight has more than 28 years.

Comments are closed.

OverdriveOnline.com strives to maintain an open forum for reader opinions. Click here to read our comment policy.