New FMCSA rule cuts drivers’ weekly hours
Michael Campbell, executive vice president and CEO of the California Trucking Association said, “At a time when our roads are safer than ever before, it makes no sense to impose rules that will force more trucks onto the roads at peak drive times thus raising the risk of crashes and increasing congestion and emissions from all vehicles. California roads currently boast the lowest number of deaths in truck-involved crashes in the nation at less than one per million miles traveled.”
Companies and drivers that commit egregious violations of the rule could face the maximum penalties for each offense. Trucking companies that allow drivers to exceed the 11-hour driving limit by three or more hours could be fined $11,000 per offense, and the drivers themselves could face civil penalties of up to $2,750 for each offense.
“This final rule is the culmination of the most extensive and transparent public outreach effort in our agency’s history,” said FMCSA Administrator Anne Ferro. “With robust input from all areas of the trucking community, coupled with the latest scientific research, we carefully crafted a rule acknowledging that when truckers are rested, alert and focused on safety, it makes our roadways safer.”
The hours rule was changed in 2003 and 2005, making this the third alteration in eight years.
The rule is being sent to the Federal Register today and is currently available here.