| August 01, 2005

“El Dorado was the lost city of gold and jewels and gems,” says Tom. “I found my El Dorado.”

El Dorado and the Turners braved Tropical Storm Arlene for the three-day show, which featured lots of chrome, paint and sparkle, despite storm clouds. Experienced show truckers as well as newcomers showed off their rigs.

Linda and Rick Lindeman of Racine, Wis., brought their 2005 Peterbilt 379, “Ridin’ the Storm Out,” and its appropriate hurricane theme to the contest. With five trucks, the couple doesn’t have a lot of time to polish their chrome. “It takes a lot of time to do shows,” Linda says. “This is the first show we’ve done with this truck.”

The Lindemans picked the perfect show; Shell Rotella SuperRigs is open only to working trucks, and entrants must put at least 80,000 miles a year on their rigs. Entrants come for the show and for a chance to be in the calendar. Russ and Debbie Brown, veterans of the show circuit, had their 1999 Freightliner Classic and its black and orange Harley-Davidson theme photographed for the calendar – at a custom motorcycle shop in Daytona Beach. The couple’s seventh truck will be the third they’ve had on a Shell Rotella SuperRigs calendar.

The couple say they work together when they start designing a truck. Russ is in charge of the outside and Debbie the inside. “She has good color coordination,” Russ says.

The winners split $10,000 in cash and prizes; 13 trucks were chosen for the calendar. Winners at the show, which is in its 23rd year, included:

Best of Show Winner
Tom and Kim Turner – 1995 Peterbilt 379

Best of Show 1st Runner-up
Curtis Christians – 2005 Peterbilt 379

Best of Show 2nd Runner-up
Donald and Susan Pardue – 2002 Peterbilt 379

Tractor-Trailer Division
1st Place – Paul Feigelson – 2003 Peterbilt
2nd Place – Charlie Bowen – 2003 Peterbilt 379
3rd Place – Richie Acosta – 2005 Peterbilt 379
4th Place – Mike Stephenson – 2004 Peterbilt
5th Place – Jimmy Jeffers – 2001 Peterbilt 379

Tractor Division
1st Place – Clint Dicks – 2000 Peterbilt
2nd Place – Justin Ippolito – 2000 Peterbilt 379
3rd Place – Mike Penrod – 2002 Freightliner Classic
4th Place – James and Donna Gallagher – 2005 Peterbilt 379
5th Place – Bill Long – 2003 Peterbilt 379

Classic Division
1st Place – Neal Holsomback – 1988 Peterbilt 379
2nd Place – Derek Montgomery – 1986 Peterbilt 359
3rd Place – Bob and Joyce Thrift – 1973 Peterbilt 288 TA
4th Place – Mike Auker – 1985 Peterbilt 359
5th Place – Nick Francisco – 1989 Kenworth K-100 Cabover

Best Lights
Jerry and Allan Asbury – 1999 Kenworth W900L

Best Interior
Tom and Kim Turner – 1995 Peterbilt 379

Best Engine
Derek Montgomery – 1986 Peterbilt 359

Best Mural
Mike Penrod – 2002 Freightliner Classic

Best Theme
Tom and Kim Turner – 1995 Peterbilt 379

People’s Choice Award
Bill Long – 2003 Peterbilt 379
Sean Kelley

Roadranger Introduces New Drive Systems
Roadranger, the joint marketing arm for Dana Corp. and Eaton Corp., recently introduced Class 7 and Class 8 truck components designed to operate more efficiently.

A conceptual drive-axle system and heavy-duty steer axle and hub systems from Dana, and automatic transmissions from Eaton were featured in June at Roadranger’s press conference in Kalamazoo, Mich.

The conceptual drive axle system eliminates drive gears from the rearmost axle on a Class 8 truck. Fewer moving parts and less lubrication simplify the drive axle system, decreasing weight and maintenance costs.

Comments are closed. strives to maintain an open forum for reader opinions. Click here to read our comment policy.