Old faithful

| October 01, 2006

More than 32,000 drivers and their families came to the two-day celebration, which featured 200 exhibits, carnival games, live bands and an antique truck display with more than 200 vehicles.

Eighty trucks, many of them new to the event, competed in the annual Super Truck Beauty Contest. Ron Baird of Thorntown, Ind., won first place in the Show Class category with his 2000 Peterbilt 379, Hoffman’s HOT Rod.

The winner of Best Overall Theme was Rusty Wyrick of Mansfield, Ohio, with his 1998 Western Star, French Quarters. The Specialty Class winner was Tom Hansen for his 2006 Peterbilt wrecker Never Satisfied. The Truckers’ Choice winner was Brandon Wise for his 1986 Peterbilt 379 Green Hornet.

Drivers also battled it out in the Iowa Pork Chop Cookout, the Trucker’s Best Friend Pet Contest and the Trucker Olympics.

Other winners in the Super Truck Beauty Contest included:
2004-2007 Bobtail Conventional
1st: Michael Barry, Pilot Grove, Mo., 2005 Peterbilt 379, Nothing Left to Say; 2nd: Randy and Michelle Kramer, Ankeny, Iowa, 2004 Peterbilt 379, Excalibur; 3rd: Dave Hinz, West Bend, Wis., 2004 Peterbilt 379, Blue

1997-2003 Bobtail Conventional
1st: Rusty Wyrick, Mansfield, Ohio, 1998 Western Star, French Quarters; 2nd: Harvey and Karen Zander, St. Louis Park, Minn., 2003 International 9900ix, Icy Blu 2; 3rd: Glen Page, Camden, Mich., 2001 Peterbilt 379, Precious

1990-1996 Bobtail Conventional
1st: Ron Brubaker, Sigourney, Iowa, 1993 Peterbilt 379, One of a Kind; 2nd: Carl Crider, Aurora, Ind., 1996 Freightliner FLD, Little Critter

1989-1982 Bobtail Conventional
1st: George McGregor, Mesquite, Texas, 1987 Marmon PH57, Kozy Kabin #2; 2nd: Arlyn Workman, Morrison, Ill., 1986 Peterbilt 359, Martha; 3rd: James Randall, Claremont, Minn., 1985 Marmon 57P, Handlebar

1981 & Older Bobtail Conventional
1st: Jerry Howard, Fairborn, Ohio, 1954 Autocar DC-75, Midnight; 2nd: Steve Perry, Fairborn, Ohio, 1949 Peterbilt 350: El Turbo; 3rd: Joshua Metz, Hicksville, Ohio, 1978 Kenworth W900L, Cruiser

2007-2002 Combination
1st: Pat Eilen, Hampton, Minn., 2006 Peterbilt 379, Iron Outlaw; 2nd: Billy Carter, Victor, Iowa, 2006 Kenworth W900L, Orange Blossom Special; 3rd: Shawn Swanson, Prophetstown, Ill., 2002 Kenworth W900B, Pure Attitude

2001-1993 Combination
1st: Dustin Foster, Butler, Mo., 2000 Peterbilt 379; 2nd: Mike Aschenbrenner, Fremont, Iowa, 1996 Peterbilt; 3rd: Randy Huddleston, Willow Hill, Ill., 1995 Freightliner Classic XL, Just Awesome

1992 & Older Combination
1st: Mike Stoneman, Payette, Idaho, 1951 GMC 970; 2nd: Brandon Wise, Carlinville, Ill., 1986 Peterbilt 359, Green Hornet; 3rd: Larry Winkler, Rockport, Ind., 1985 Peterbilt 359, Barnyard Beast

Comments are closed.

OverdriveOnline.com strives to maintain an open forum for reader opinions. Click here to read our comment policy.