Oregon adds chain rule
In inclement weather, single-drive axle trucks weighing more than 10,000 pounds gross weight or vehicles towing trailers will now be required to use chains in Oregon, the state’s Department of Transportation announced.
Under this regulation, chains are not required on tandem drive axle vehicles.
Details on snow zone notices, chain requirements and diagrams are posted on Oregon’s travel information website, http://www.tripcheck.com/. Snow zone notices and road condition updates are also available by calling 511 or 1-800-977-ODOT (6368) within Oregon and at 503-588-2941 from outside the state.
Fines for ignoring snow zone signs requiring chains or traction tires are $190. Commercial vehicle drivers can be fined $544 for not using chains in bad weather.