PTL Honorees

| September 04, 2002

Paschall Truck Lines recently named Juventino Cortez, Jr., of Los Fresnos, Texas, as its Driver of the Month for February 2002.

Cortez has been with the company for four years, and he has earned the 700,000 Mile Safe Driving Award for excellence in safety.

PTL also named Lanis Lambirth, of Henning, Tenn., as the company’s Owner-Operator of the Month for February 2002.

Lambirth has been with PTL for three years and has earned the 300,000 Mile Safe Driving Award for excellence in safety.

East West Salutes Drivers
East West Motor Express Inc., a subsidiary of Smithway Motor Express, recently honored its drivers for 2001. Mark Arehart was Company Driver of the Year. Owner-Operator of the Year went to both Jerry Henrichsen and Kelly Evans. Steve and Diane Clifford won Owner-Operator Team of the Year, and Ron and Ella Wilcox were named Owner-Operator Team Drivers of the Year. Richard Morris and Misty Ackerman won Company Team of the Year.

Drivers who achieved 2 million miles of accident-free driving are Kenny Anderson, Rodney Braun, Larry Grimes, Jack Guffey, Henry Hansen, Beryl Weinreich and Frank Stebbins. Drivers who reached 1 million accident-free miles include Rodger Beaird, Bud Brunick, Rudy Breneman, Buddy Buchert, Jay Grubl, Fritz Hanig, Jerry Henrichsen, Duane Herrlein, Tom Perterson, Les Sevening, Mike Tolzin, Cindy Williams, Doc Palmer, John Reed, Frank Rowley, Georgia Loberg and Orrin Wegner.

Dart Executive VP Joyce Jordan (l) and Tabra Paulsel congratulate John Cooksey.

KAT Award
KAT Inc., named Richard Workman of Englewood, Ohio, as its Driver of the Year for 2001. He became a Million Miler for Safe Driving in 2000 and also was recognized for nine years of safe driving in September 2001.

WTA Drivers
Bud Mullendore, a driver for Macy’s Service in Jackson, Wy., was named the Wyoming Trucking Association’s 2001 Driver of the Year. Mullendore has been with Macy’s for 13 years and has no accidents or violations on his record.

The trucking association also honored Dorman Ewing, a driver with Saratoga Corp, with the Pioneer Award. Ewing’s career spans 56 years and he has approximately 2 million miles of safe driving with no accidents or violations.

Contractor of the Year
Dart Transit Company’s Dallas Operating Center selected John Cooksey as Contractor of the Year for 2001. Cooksey has been with Dart for 11 years, logged more than 1 million accident-free miles and recorded 100 percent on-time performance.

He received a trophy, a monogrammed shirt, hat, leather jacket, and $1,000 check for his accomplishment.

Dart recently recognized other drivers for safe driving achievements in 2001:

3 Million Mile Club awards: Elvin Guyer Jr. of Forest City, Mo, Jim Lyle of Laporte, Minn., Dale Schultz of Capac, Mich., and Thomas Tyler Sr. of Dallas, Iowa.

2 Million Mile Club awards: Peter Abfall, Leon Addison, Gary Boron, Keith DeHaven, Mike Gibson, Steven Hoeft, David McCammond, Walt Newcomb, and John Vince.

Comments are closed. strives to maintain an open forum for reader opinions. Click here to read our comment policy.