Rhode Island bans texting while driving
Rhode Island became the 19th state, along with the District of Columbia, to pass a law banning texting when Gov. Donald L. Carcieri signed the anti-texting bill Monday night, Nov. 9. The new law took effect immediately.
Violators caught and convicted of texting while driving will get an $85 fine for the first offense, a $100 fine for the second offense, and a $125 fine for the third offense.
Rhode Island Department of Transportation has plans to alert drivers of this law by running ads, using its highway variable message signs, putting information on social media sites, and reaching out to universities to let students know about the change.
"There probably should be some minimum standards. But as long as the ...