Sitton Receives ATA Safety Awards

| April 07, 2005

Sitton VP Dave Allgood

The American Trucking Associations recently recognized Sitton Motor Lines with first-place Safe Fleet awards in the Truckload/ Line Haul 50-100 million miles and in the Local Truckload 0-20 million miles divisions.

“We are extremely proud of our fleet,” said Dave Allgood, Sitton’s vice president of risk management. “We take pride in our safety record and it is an honor for the fleet to be recognized by the ATA.”

Based out of Joplin, Mo., Sitton Motor Lines has placed in the top three for the Safe Fleet Awards for the last six years. In three of those six years the carrier took home first place honors.

Anti-Drug Drive
For the 12th consecutive year, Con-Way Transportation Services Inc., a subsidiary of CNF Inc., sent thousands of employees back to school across the United States to present anti-drug messages. Employees of the company’s six U.S. operating units participated in the national Red Ribbon drug abuse prevention campaign in October. Con-Way employees distributed more than 700,000 red ribbons embossed with this year’s message, “I Have A Bright Future In My Hands – Freedom is Drug Free!” Campaign materials were often delivered to schools in Con-Way tractor-trailers.

Forbes Ranking
Heartland Express Inc., of Iowa, is one of the 200 Best Small Companies according to the annual Forbes magazine list in the Oct. 28, 2002, issue.

Forbes, in conjunction with William O’Neil & Co., compiled the list of public companies with sales from $5 million to $600 million annually, a stock price above $5 per share and a five-year return on equity of at least 5 percent. The companies must be profitable, and every company on the list had to earn a net margin of 5 percent or more, excluding extraordinary and nonrecurring items. Heartland Express exceeded all of these standards to be ranked 154th on the list.

Randy McGlaughlin

CFI Drivers of the Month
Contract Freighters Inc. recently named its September 2002 drivers of the month.

Company Driver of the Month was Randy McGlaughlin, of El Paso, Texas, who joined CFI in 2000. Company Team Driver of the Month was awarded to Tony and Janet Heath of Luddington, Mich., who joined CFI in 1997 and 1998, respectively.

Contractor of the Month was Thomas Rice, of Asheville, N.C. who joined
CFI in 1997.

Contractor Team of the Month went to Art and Amber George of Topock, Ariz., who joined CFI
in 2000.

Winners are automatically nominated for the 2002 year-end award in their respective category.

Bekins’ Top Drivers
Bekins recently awarded 2001 Driver of the Year honors to seven of its drivers. One recipient was chosen from each of the company’s fleet categories based on their professionalism, timeliness, communications, revenue, claims experience and customer service skills. All are past drivers of the month.

This year’s winners were:

Sam Artrip, Ona, W.Va. – Household Goods. Artrip has been with Bekins for 18 years. During his last six years working as an owner-operator, he has earned numerous safety awards, as well as the President’s Award For Customer Service Excellence in 2000, 2001 and 2002.

Willie Wright, Boyer-Rosene Moving & Storage, Arlington Heights, Ill. – Agent Household Goods. Wright has been with Boyer-Rosene Moving and Storage since April 1977 and has been with Bekins for 16 years.

Wallace Sparks, Henderson, Texas – Metro/Truckload. Sparks has been an owner-operator within the Bekins system for 13 years. He has received safety awards for 11 consecutive years, as well as the President’s Award For Customer Service Excellence in 1997, 1999 and 2002.

Comments are closed. strives to maintain an open forum for reader opinions. Click here to read our comment policy.