Top Drivers

| April 07, 2005

Wayne Herrington is CFI’s Company Driver of the Month for February 2003.

CFI Drivers of the Month
Contract Freighters Inc. named its February 2003 drivers of the month.

Company Driver of the Month was Wayne Herrington of Ft. Smith, Ark., who joined CFI in 1994. Company Team Driver of the Month was awarded to Jim and Shirley Edge of McAlester, Okla.,
who joined the company in 1991 and 1997, respectively.

Contractor of the Month was John Pope of Mountain Grove, Mo., who joined CFI in 1999. He was also the 2002 Contractor of the Year.

Contractor Team of the Month went to Bill Bumgardner and Vicki St. Clair of Boerne, Texas, who joined the company in 1991 and 1997, respectively.

Winners are automatically nominated for the 2003 year-end award in their respective category.

Star Drivers
Star Transportation, Nashville, Tenn., recently honored more than two dozen drivers for their combined 110 years of safety-conscious driving without a preventable accident.

Recognized: William Clark, 19 years; Gary Bailey, 11 years; Ben Brackett, 10 years; Donald Boone, 10 years; Don Trisdale, nine years; Jay Thompson, eight years; Vernon Jordan, five years; Rickie McFarland, five years; Bryan Porter, four years; Ricky Blake, three years; Peter McMinds, three years; Clint Kennedy, three years; Jeffery Phillips, three years; Robert Henry, two years; Herbert Duke, two years; George Mick, two years; Michael Adkins, two years; Steven Willwert, one year; Jason Hess, one year; Raul Flores, one year; Robert Burden, one year; William Gibbs, one year; David Breeland, one year; Joseph Wilson, one year; Hiram Edwards, one year and Johnny Cates, one year.

Talent Show Winners
Five trucking industry representatives were selected as finalists in the first Stars of the Road Talent Search event held at the Mid-America Trucking Show in March. Each finalist will have two songs professionally recorded at Omni Sound Studios in Nashville, Tenn., and placed on a compilation of original songs to be distributed nationwide, according to AmeriSearch Music Group Inc., the parent company of Gear Jammer Records.

The finalists are Chrissy Kelley, driver for Werner Enterprises; Bobby Huckaby, driver for Tonapah Joe’s Truck Stop of Arizona; Jeff Lofollette, driver for Kennedy Trucking of Carrollton, Ky.; Kris Pierce, a former dispatcher and son of a 30-year trucker of Eminence, Ky., and Alisa Asbury, the daughter of a career trucker.

Former trucker Marshall Madison was originally a finalist who stepped down from being included on the first compilation after he acquired an investor who is seeking a major recording deal for him.

Another talent event will be held this year at the Great American Trucking Show in Dallas, Sept 26-28. Top score finalist from the first competition, Chrissy Kelley, will emcee this event. Voting for the GATS finalists will be held online at Voting begins right after the GATS event. will host the finalists’ video highlights from the GATS event and host the voting card for the public to choose their top five artists.

For more information call (989) 892-8433 or visit

Schneider Get Awards
Green Bay, Wis.-based Schneider National has been named Frito-Lay’s “Carrier of the Year” for the second consecutive year and a “Supplier of the Year” award winner in the category of transportation supplier.

Frito-Lay announced the “Carrier of the Year” and “Supplier of the Year” award winners at banquets held on Feb. 19 and April 22, respectively. In 2002, Schneider National hauled 14,000 loads with a 97.5 percent on-time delivery record for Frito-Lay.

Comments are closed. strives to maintain an open forum for reader opinions. Click here to read our comment policy.