West Virginia expected to extend idling limit
West Virginia is expected to continue its anti-idling law that exempts truckers who idle for heat and cooling under specific conditions.
Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin is expected to sign the bill that extends the rule banning heavy truck idling more than 15 minutes an hour. The bill removes a sunset date of May 1 that was in the original rule from June 2010. Fines for violations range between $150 and $300.
An exemption to the rule applies when temperatures are lower than 40 degrees or higher than 75 degrees. The exemption also applies only at places such as truck terminals, truck stops and rest areas, if idle-reduction technology is unavailable.
Idling also is allowed for up to 15 minutes in an hour when loading or unloading.
Other exceptions to the rule include idling when stuck in traffic, when required by law enforcement to stop or when idling is necessary to operate defrosters, heaters, air conditioners or cargo refrigeration equipment.
Furthermore, idling restrictions don’t apply to trucks showing a California Air Resources Board engine nitrogen oxide idling emission label.
"There probably should be some minimum standards. But as long as the ...