Bandit Big Rig Series looks to build on inaugural season’s success in 2018

| March 01, 2018

The Minimizer Bandit Big Rig Series will kick of its second season next weekend, March 10, at Mobile International Speedway in Alabama.

Series organizers hope to build on the success of the inaugural season last year.

“I can’t wait to see the fan turnout at Mobile,” says Bandit Series General Manager Jason Johnson. “We’ve seen a ton of pre-order tickets and the excitement is off the charts.”

The second season’s 12-race slate will run through October 6, with the Bandits visiting mostly new tracks throughout the year. Only two tracks from last year’s circuit – Hickory Motor Speedway in Newton, N.C., and Hawkeye Downs Speedway in Cedar Rapids, Iowa – are on the 2018 schedule.

Defending points champion Ricky Rude (#14) is set to defend his title when the Bandits kick off their 2018 season at Mobile International Speedway March 10th. (PRNewsfoto/Minimizer)

New tracks for the Bandits this year include Mobile International Speedway; Motor Mile Speedway in Fairlawn, Va.; Concord Speedway in Concord, N.C.; Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis; Lake Erie Speedway in North East, Pa.; Salem Speedway in Salem, Ind.; La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway in La Crosse, Wis.; Elko Speedway in Elko, Minn.; and Anderson Speedway in Williamston, S.C. The full 2018 schedule can be found here.

“Most of the tracks on the 2018 schedule are new to us, because we want to introduce the Bandits to as many new fans as possible,” Johnson says.  “And that all starts with the season opener at Mobile.”

Each race, the Bandits will compete for a $10,000 prize that goes to the winner. Last year, Ricky “Rude” Proffitt won five races and held off Tommy Boileau to claim the inaugural Bandit Series Championship.

General admission adult tickets this season are $25 if ordered online before the race, or $30 at the gate. Veterans and senior citizens can get in for $20, and children 8 and under get in free.

Editor’s note: A previous version of this article incorrectly stated the series champion would receive a $50,000 prize. 


There are no comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *