Fleet Focus – July 2009

TCA names Safety Professional of the Year
James Ransom, 29-year safety director at Clayton, Ala.-based Boyd Bros. Transportation, has been chosen as the Truckload Carriers Association Safety Professional of the Year. Winners of the award, known as the Clare C. Casey Award, are leaders in protecting lives and property in the trucking industry, while serving their fleet, industry and the motoring public.

Atlas Van Lines van operators who recently celebrated 10 consecutive years as Customer Service Award recipients are Lester Bourne III, Ildeberto Macedo, Patrick McDonnel, Charles Racine, Perry Schrecengost Jr., Donnell Varner and Robert Voytko. . . Decker Truck Line, based in Fort Dodge, Iowa, selected April Drivers of the Month: John Kilmer for flatbed and Jim Brown for van/reefer. . . Dedicated truckload fleet John Christner Trucking, based in Sapulpa, Okla., selected Jack Culpepper as its company driver for April. . . Landstar honored 18 owner-operators with lifetime achievement awards. They are Larry Bryson, Malcolm Corse, Bob Degler, Don Fore, Ben Heddendorp, Ray King, Don Ledford, Larry Leslie, Mike Mason, Gary Myers, Bernard Osburn, James Parker, Brian Simpson, Oscar Velasquez, Terry Walter, Charles Warren, Joe Westleigh and Wesley Younes. . . Suddath Relocation Systems, a United Van Lines agent based in Jacksonville, Fla., selected Leo Altes and Dexter Ramsey as 2008 van operators of the year. . . Swift Transportation was awarded the Carrier of the Year by Lowe’s for the fifth consecutive year.