Fleet Focus

CentralCentral Freight driver celebrates 5 million miles

Central Freight Lines company driver Sandy Menzdorf earned the fleet’s 5 Million Miler Award, having logged 5,375,000 miles safely in 43 years running long-haul routes with the Waco, Texas-based carrier.


CRST Van Expedited raised its pay as much as 6 cents per mile for recent truck driving school graduates and experienced drivers, depending on their seniority. . . . Marten Transport increased layover pay to drivers to $100 per day, the Mondovi, Wis.-based carrier announced.


Averitt Express, based in Cookeville, Tenn., was honored as Dollar General’s 2009 LTL Carrier of the Year and Carrier Partner of the Year. . . . Gary Babbitt, 33-year veteran company driver with Central Freight Lines, based in Dallas, has driven 4 million miles safely. . . . CIO, a magazine for chief information officers, honored Con-way, Old Dominion Freight Line, YRC Worldwide, FedEx, Pitt Ohio Express and Greatwide Logistics Services in its 2010 CIO 100 list. . . Lincoln, Neb.-based Crete Carrier won Owens Corning’s Enterprise Carrier of the Year Award this year for the third consecutive year. . . . Eagan, Minn.-based Dart Transit named Post Witt, of the Dallas Operating Center, and Bob Towey, of the Eagan Operating Center, 2009 Contractors of the Year. . . . The North Carolina Trucking Association named Old Dominion Freight Line company driver William Lawrence its 2009 Driver of the Year. . . . The Ohio Trucking Association named Clopay Transportation driver Larry Rosengarten its 2009 Driver of the Year, in part for driving 4.9 million miles safely. n

Showcase your workhorse
Add a photo of your rig to our Reader Rigs collection to share it with your peers and the world. Tell us the story behind the truck and your business to help build its story.
Submit Your Rig
Reader Rig Submission