Driver of the Year

National Carriers, Inc., named Willie Clark of Martinez, Ga., as its Driver of the Year. The 52-year-old owner-operator has driven 13 years of his 32-year career with National Carriers. He has logged more than 2 million miles of safe driving with no accidents or tickets with the company.

Gary Denning, president of National Carriers, presented Clark with a $5,000 check and a crystal mantel clock at a ceremony recognizing his achievement.

Roberson Drivers
Roberson Transportation has announced its drivers of the month for January. The honorees are PTF Roberson owner-operator Elliot Ross, PTF Roberson driver Charlie Nelson, CX Roberson contractor Danny Jett and CX Roberson driver David Day.

Robert and Della DeClue

Top Driver
Dart Transit Company named Robert DeClue as its 2001 Contractor of the Year for its Minneapolis Operating Center. DeClue is a 10-year contractor with Dart. He and his wife, Della, were honored with a dinner and reception.

In 1995 DeClue transferred to Fleetline, Dart’s Texas-based affiliate, to run regionally in Texas. Fleetline named him Contractor of the Month in 1997. A year later he returned to Dart’s national operation. In 1998 he was selected as a Dart Contractor of the Month – the first and only contractor to be named Contractor of the Month by both companies.

DeClue has driven nearly 4 million accident-free miles. He is a member of the National Safety Council’s Three Million Mile Club, Dart’s Hall of Fame and owns Dart’s President’s Safety Award.

Tiona Drivers
Tiona Truck Line recently announced that Wayne McCoy, of Butler, Mo., is the company’s Driver of the Year. McCoy will receive a weekend at the Chateau in Branson, Mo. During his tenure at Tiona, McCoy served as terminal manager and dispatcher before becoming a driver. He also serves the company in many instances as a driver-trainer. Three drivers tied for runner-up, with only a one-vote difference: Rodney Evans, Houston, Texas; Jimmy Poole, Newton, Ga.; and Kenny Robbins of LaCygne, Kan. Those three drivers will receive gift catalogs for a gift of their choice.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers
The ALL NEW Rand Tablet
Presented by Rand McNally

The company also recognized driver Junior Hood for 20 years of service.

Safe Drivers
Packerland Transport recognized several drivers at its annual safety awards banquet including Wayne Meyer of Whitelaw, Wis., and Larry Nohr of Bonduel, Wis., for accumulating more than 3 million safe miles in their careers. Meyer has been with Packerland for 29 years and Nohr has been with the company for 27 years.

Packerland also honored Milton Schwahn of Reedsville, Wis., and Robert Stycznski of Pulaski, Wis., for each having 28 years of service.

Geraldo Rodriguez

CFI Drivers of the Year
Contract Freighters Inc. recently announced its drivers of the year for 2001. CFI named Fred Robbins of Altus, Okla., as its Company Driver of the Year, Wilfredo Colon of Coconut, Fla., as the Contractor of the Year and Jim and Shirley Edge of McAlester, Okla., as the Company Team of the Year. Each winner received $1,000 and a trip for two to Hawaii. The company drivers also received a new tractor.

CFI has also honored its January 2002 drivers of the month.

Company Driver of the Month was Geraldo Rodriguez of El Paso, Texas, who has driven for CFI for three years. Company Team Driver of the Month was awarded to George and Judy Spicer of Oldfield, Mo. The Spicers joined CFI in 1998.

Contractor of the Month was Efrain Gomez, who lives in Sabinal, Texas, and has been with CFI for nine years. Contractor Team of the Month was Ken Graven and Amanda Presley of Seagoville, Texas. They joined CFI in 1998.

Winners are automatically nominated for the 2002 year-end award in their respective category.

Warren Driver
Warren Transport honored owner-operator Douglas A. Schildgen, of Waterloo, Iowa, as its Driver of the Year at the company’s annual safety banquet. The 49-year-old was the December 2000 Driver of the Month and has earned his 21-year Safe Driving Award.

Magazine Award
Landstar Systems’ company magazine, The Road to Success, received a silver award in the Mercury 2001 Awards competition in the External Corporate Magazines category. Landstar’s carrier group is comprised of Landstar Gemini, Landstar Inway, Landstar Ligon and Landstar Ranger.

Showcase your workhorse
Add a photo of your rig to our Reader Rigs collection to share it with your peers and the world. Tell us the story behind the truck and your business to help build its story.
Submit Your Rig
Reader Rig Submission