TCA Select Finalists for Driver Contests

Last year’s Company Equipment Driver of the Year was George Dieu, a 45-year veteran driver with 4.5 million miles under his belt.

The Truckload Carriers Association, along with contest co-sponsors Truckers News and Overdrive magazines, has named the finalists for its Independent Contractor of the Year and Company Equipment Driver of the Year contests.

Finalists will complete a more rigorous application by Dec. 19, and judges will whittle the list down to five truckers in each contest. Grand prize winners for the contests will be announced at TCA’s 2004 Annual Convention at the Hilton Waikoloa Village in Waikoloa, Hawaii, March 14-17.

Company Equipment Driver of the Year finalists are:

Glen and Sherry Foede, CAN-AM Express, Inc.; Roger Mellon, D.M. Bowman, Inc.; Curtis Mullens, USA Truck, Inc.; Paul Nesslerodt, D.M. Bowman, Inc.; Phillip Engelhorn, John Christner Trucking, Inc.; Arthur Rabold, S & H Express; Carl Rash, Contract Freighters, Inc.; Hiram Richardson, FedEx Freight – American Freightways; James Roseberry, D.M. Bowman, Inc.; Robert Salmi, American Eagle Line – A Division of FFE Transportation; John Speith, PFT Roberson, Inc.; Robert St. John, Jevic Transportation, Inc.; Jerry Waddoups, Central Refrigeration – Dick Simon Trucking; Eric Wasson, Coastal Transport, Inc.; Robert White, Hogan Transports, Inc.; William Wilson, USA Truck, Inc.; Barry Eves, S & H Express; Gerald Billing, MacKinnon Transport, Inc.; David Garrelts, SB, Inc., dba Sherman Bros. Heavy Trucking; and Ronald Johnson, Witte Bros. Exchange.

Finalists for Independent Contractor of the Year are:

Bruce Barnes, Witte Bros. Exchange; Ezra “Carroll” Benn, Dart Transit Company; Richard Cary, PFT Roberson, Inc.; Gregory Coulter, Coastal Transport, Inc.; Donald Cozine, FFE Transportation Services, Inc.; William Gross, John Christner Trucking, Inc.; Carl James, MacKinnon Transport, Inc.; Jerry Johnson, O & S Trucking, Inc.; William Loving, PFT Roberson, Inc.; Charles Maly, Shaffer Trucking, Inc.; Jimmy McSwain, Sunco Carriers, Inc.; Roger Mullenberg, GMR Transportation, Inc.; Thomas Rice, Contract Freighters, Inc.; Rick Shank, Arnold Transportation Services; Dennis Siler, Dart Transit Company; Ronald Warner, Davis Transport, Inc.; Larry Williams, SB, Inc., dba Sherman Bros. Heavy Trucking; Gary Fink, Willis Shaw Express; Houston Smith, John Christner Trucking, Inc.; and Richard Johnson, Yellowstone Trucking 2000, Inc.

The top three winners in the Company Equipment Contest will receive cash, gift certificates and more.

The trucker chosen as Independent Contractor of the Year will receive a new International tractor, along with numerous other prizes sponsored by industry suppliers.

Showcase your workhorse
Add a photo of your rig to our Reader Rigs collection to share it with your peers and the world. Tell us the story behind the truck and your business to help build its story.
Submit Your Rig
Reader Rig Submission