Fleet Insider

Maverick Expands
Maverick Transportation is expanding its hiring area by creating a Regional Southeast Division so that it may recruit from Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia and part of Northern Florida.

Onsite Maintenance
RFK Transportation has opened a service site at the Cedar Rapids, Iowa, terminal.
The terminal will service Freightliner Select trucks in the RFK fleet along with any trucks driven by RFK owner-operators.

Fortune Ranking
For the third consecutive year Yellow Roadway Corporation ranked first in the transportation industry on Fortune Magazine’s list of America’s Most Admired Companies. Yellow Roadway also ranked first in seven of the eight attributes of reputation categories: innovation, employee talent, use of corporate assets, social responsibility, quality of management, long-term investment and quality of products and services.

Smith Driver of the Year
Greg Puryear of Milwaukee is Smith Transport’s 2004 Driver of the Year. The 16-year trucking veteran has worked for Smith since 2002. As Driver of the Year, Puryear will receive $1,500, a commemorative leather jacket, a variety of gift certificates, tickets to professional sporting events and his choice of a 2005 Freightliner or Peterbilt.

PTL Drivers
Paschall Truck Lines’ October 2004 Company Driver of the Month is Edmond Goodsell. He has been driving for 30 years, the last 12 and a half for PTL. He recently received his 1.5 Million Mile Safe Driving Award.

Jerry Terry is the October 2004 Owner-Operator of the Month.

Terry has driven for PTL the last 10 months and has more than 30 years of driving experience.

Pro Fleet Driver Honored
Pro Fleet Transport named William Gardner its 2004 Driver of the Year. He was the third-quarter Driver of the Quarter in 2004. Gardner received an embroidered leather jacket, a $500 savings bond, a Driver of the Year plaque and “Driver of the Year” lettering for his tractor.

Pay Raises
Covenant: On April 1, Covenant Transport raised experienced solo driver pay to 48 cents per mile.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers

Experienced team drivers split the raised 56 cents-per-mile pay.

Transport America: Transport America is raising owner-operator pay by 2 cents per mile this month. After the raise, total compensation for owner-operators will stand at 90 cents per mile, plus additional fuel surcharges and bonus opportunities.

In February, Transport America added a 4.5-cents-per-mile raise for company drivers.

CTL Distribution: CTL Distribution, Inc. has raised its company driver pay. Current tank truck drivers with seven or more years of tractor-trailer experience received a 5 percent pay increase.

Roehl: Roehl Transport has raised experienced driver pay by 6 to 12 percent depending on the fleet and region of the country. The new rates would set starting pay for experienced drivers between 38 and 41 cents per mile in the van division and between 40 and 43 cents in flatbeds.

Roehl also increased owner-operator mileage rates to as high as 91 cents per mile for van and $1.02 per mile for flatbed pulls on the driver’s own trailer.

Roehl will also offer experienced drivers as much as $2,000 as a bonus for signing with the company.

Referral Winners
Joe Sackville won first place in the Smithway Motor Xpress Driver Referral Contest. He is a flatbed owner-operator from Norfolk, Neb.

Second place went to Gale Atchison from Medicine Lodge, Kan., and third place went to Roger Downey from Dayton, Ohio.

Sackville will receive a 5 cent-per-mile raise for one year. The second place gets a 3 cent-per-mile raise and the third place winner pay is raised 2 cents per mile.

Trucker Buddy of the Month
Duane Winchell of Montello, Wis., is MultiMedia’s February Trucker Buddy of the Month.

Winchell was nominated for the Trucker Buddy of the Month honor by Dana Jarrett’s Royal Oaks Elementary fourth grade class in Kannapolis, N.C. Winchell will receive a personalized jacket, $300 to spend on his class and $200 in Trucker Buddy merchandise, compliments of MultiMedia. He will also receive an IdleAire adaptor and a Koolatron cooler. The class will receive a CrossCountry USA game from Ingenuity Works.

Winchell, an owner-operator leased to Coastal Carriers out of Troy, Mo., has been a Trucker Buddy since 1998.

Find out more about the program by visiting this site or calling (800) 692-8339.

Overnite All-Star Road Team
Overnite Transportation Company named 13 drivers to its 2005 All-Star Road Team. This year’s team has collectively driven 26 million safe miles.

The list of honorees includes All-Star Team Captain John Browder, from Bristol, Tenn., Marty Hogan from Roanoke Va., Doug Bonovich from Richmond, Va., Gary Capps from Salt Lake City, Utah, Fred Shaner from Denver City, Co., William Montanez from Providence, R.I., and Ron Raney from Des Moines, Iowa.

Also named to the team are Kimberly Spillers from Memphis, Tenn., Chris Sutton from Erie, Pa., Jerold Swain from St. Louis, Mo., Jon Dellabona and Jim Varga, both from Toledo, Ohio, and Dennis Worley of Richland, Wash.

Team membership is based a driver’s safety record, community and company involvement, performance, communication skills and driving awards.

FX Honorees
Fortune Xpress has named Kerry Vaz its 2004 Owner-Operator of the Year. The FX 2004 Owner-Operator of the Fourth Quarter is Travis Roles.

The awards are given out based on an owner-operator’s years of FX service, safe driving record and overall quality performance.

Annett Million Mile Club
The Annett Holdings, Inc., has started a Million Mile Club to honor drivers and owner-operators with 1 million or more miles of safe driving.

Gary Collins, Dan Erickson, George Davis, Jackie Harrison, Fred Clark, Steve Hennings, Bill Bush, Roger Dannen, Larry E. Brown, Francis Davis, Lowell Renner, Larry D. Brown, Darrell Macklin, Dick Wyatt, Russ Allen, Kevin Dinsdale, Dennis Murphy, Les Bohlken, Brad McNally, Larry Stevens, Michael Lavigne, Howard Inselmann, Ronald Dunlap, Bob Emery, Marshall Schales, Alan Wiegard, Matt Bohl, Richard Young, John Sullivan, Carlos Martinez, Jeff Sylvester, Mark Buckman, Thomas Brown, Charles Hunt, Frank Jahnke, Patrick Lucash, Pat Patterson, William Richardson, Thornton Bethune, Donald Engel, Richard Matter, Charles Spurr, Lether Oliver, John Te Poel, Richard Waters, Howard Hendon, William Hepker, Herbert House, Donald Norton, Paul Smith, Louis Steele, Ed Swope, Ronnie Vanwyk, Steve Jacobi, David Lachniet, Jerry Langdon, Jeff Floyd, John Spanidis, James Slinkard, Pete Milkovich, John Wheeler, Mark Coins, Terry Babbs, Larry Clevenger, Mark Enabnit, Garth Thompson and Jerry Thompson have or will receive a Million Mile Club jacket and hat.

Expedited Service
National Carriers now offers temperature-controlled expedited services to 48 states. NEEDS – National’s Elite Expedited Delivery Service – employs team drivers or a series of relays.

CFI Drivers of the Month
The CFI January 2004 Company Driver of the Month is Andrew Quirit of El Paso, Texas. He started driving with CFI in 1995.

The CFI January 2004 Company Team of the Month is Miguel Barriga and Oscar Torres, both of El Paso, Texas. John Porter is the January 2004 Contract Driver of the Month. Porter has been with CFI since 1998 and lives in Crocker, Mo.

Robert Cuthbertson and Sheri McPhee make up the January 2004 Contract Team of the Month. Both live in Stuart, Tenn.

Each driver and team is automatically nominated for the 2005 Driver and Team of the Year awards.