Fleet Insider

Sitton Driver of the Month
The Sitton Motor Lines Driver of the Month for August 2005 is Michael Raymond, a company driver from Kentwood, La. He has been with Sitton since December 2003. As Driver of the Month, he will get an embroidered jacket, a savings bond, a certificate and a choice of other gifts.

Raymond is now eligible for the Driver of the Year honor.

Runners-up for the award include Tim McDaniel of Shamrock, Okla., and Charlie Russell from Sparta, Mich.

Team drivers Anthony and Dianna Williams of Neosho, Mich., are also runners up, as is owner-operator Jason Ray of Neosho, Mich.

OTA Driver of the Year
Mervin Connolly, an owner-operator contracted to L. E. Walker Transport, is the 2005 Ontario Trucking Association/Volvo Trucks Canada Driver of the Year.

Each year the award goes to a professional transport driver who has a collision-free driving record and is an exemplary truck driver both on and off the road.

In March 2005 Connolly was awarded an Ontario Provincial Police Commissioner’s Citation for Lifesaving, for helping lift a vehicle off a trapped man and assisting a passenger who had been ejected from the vehicle following an accident along Highway 401 approaching Windsor.

Connolly has driven more than 5 million accident-free kilometers in 38 years.

Trucker Buddy of the Month
Walter Brown is MultiMedia’s November Trucker Buddy of the Month.

Brown sends a weekly post card to Maria Berry’s class at the Children’s Home in Nashua, N.H. A company driver for Cowan System in Baltimore and resident of Owen Mills, Md., Brown adopted the class in April.

Brown will receive a personalized jacket, $300 to spend on the class, $200 in Trucker Buddy merchandise, an IdleAire adaptor, a Koolatron cooler, Donde Publishing’s “For the Long Haul,” and an accident photo pack.

The class will receive a CrossCountry USA game from Ingenuity Works.

Drivers and teachers can find out more about Trucker Buddy by calling (800) 692-8339.

Fuel Program
C.R. England’s England Fuel Cap program for independent contractors requires participants to pay only $1.25 per gallon nationwide, no matter the pump price.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers

The eligible fuel stops include any stop provided by the fuel optimizer for the planned trip, C.R. England yards with fuel pumps and seven major fuel stop chains, including Pilot, Flying J, T/A, Love’s, Petro, Sapp Bros and Road Ranger.

All of C.R. England’s independent contractors are eligible to enroll in the program. Continued eligibility will be determined monthly based on achieving reasonable thresholds for miles per gallon and fuel optimizer compliance.

Rising Star
Wal-Mart Stores Inc. gave Arnold Transportation Services its annual “Rising Star Carrier of the Year” award. Selection criteria included strong revenue/growth, ease of doing business, communication, flexibility, customer service and follow-up/correction of errors.

This year, Wal-Mart recognized 12 carriers for outstanding service in categories that included small package carrier of the year, grocery carrier of the year, LTL carrier of the year and innovative carrier of the year.

PTL Drivers
Loyd Reynolds is the Paschall Truck Lines August Company Driver of the Month.

Tadeusz Rymsza is the PTL Owner-Operator of the Month.

Dolline Banks is the PTL September Company Driver of the Month, and Martha Maldonado is the September Owner-Operator of the Month.

Reynolds is a 32-year trucking veteran and has spent the last 10 with PTL. He has received three other Driver of the Month awards and is a 1.4 Million Mile Safe Driver.

Rymsza is also a three-time Driver of the Month and was the 2004 Driver of the Year. He has more than 30 years of driving experience and has been with PTL for five years.

Banks has 23 years of driving experience and 11 years with PTL. She was also Driver of the Month in 1996.

Maldonado has spent two of her five years as a driver with PTL. She won 100,000 and 200,000 Safe Driving Mile Awards.

Safety Award
The National Safety Council gave a 3 million mile safety award to Walt Newcomb of Strasburg, Va. The award honors drivers with more than 3 million miles without an accident.

Gary Volkman, Dart’s vice president of safety compliance, presented the award at a ceremony at DART’s corporate headquarters in St. Paul, Minn. Newcomb has been with Dart Transit since 1990.

Covenant Drivers
10-Year Drivers: Covenant Transport drivers celebrating 10 years of service are Charles Abrams, Juan Adams Jr., Russell Barr, Larry Bentley, Cheryel Brown, Steven Brown, Cathy Davis, Vivian Davis, Ralph Dinkins, Max Fellers, Evelyn Fentress, Dennis Fitch, Kathy Fitch, Glen Gaines, Leon Garrison, John Hammons, Bernard Harris, Wayne Hartford, Jimmy Holland, Kenny Jones, Donna Keaton, Donald McAllister, Pamela Munguia, Herschel Petty, Charles Potter, John Pritchett, Thomas Raper, Evelyn Salt, Dave Silvas, William Whittington and Bobby Willis.

15-Year Drivers: Covenant Transport drivers celebrating 10 years of service are Steven Bierle, Willie Bradley, Clarence Gosnell, Maria Jonas, Ronald Lamping, Herbert McGee and Thomas Webb.

Showcase your workhorse
Add a photo of your rig to our Reader Rigs collection to share it with your peers and the world. Tell us the story behind the truck and your business to help build its story.
Submit Your Rig
Reader Rig Submission