Con-way Announces 2008 Drivers of the Year

Con-way Truckload has announced the winners of its 2008 Driver of the Year awards. The annual awards are the highest honor the company bestows on its professional truck drivers. Winners were chosen based on exemplary performance, dedication to safety and professional service representing Con-way Truckload.

The 2008 Con-way honorees are:
Company Driver of the Year: George Cook of Arlington, Texas, joined Con-way Truckload in 1986 and has since driven more than 2.9 million miles. This year marks his third consecutive Driver of the Year win.

Company Team of the Year: Alfred and Jennifer Sidwell of Parkersburg, W.Va., became Con-way Truckload drivers in 2007 after more than 20 combined years of professional truck driving.
Contractor Driver of the Year: Jon Smith of Joplin, Mo. – also the 2007 Contractor Driver of the Year – began driving professionally and joined Con-way Truckload in 1984. Since then, he has driven more than 3 million miles.

Contractor Team of the Year: Gary and Nora Bulen of Monkey Island, Okla., became Con-way Truckload drivers in 1991 and 1996, respectively. Gary has been a professional driver since 1974, while Nora began her driving career in 1995.

Con-way Truckload added to its driver accolades when it announced that company driver Herb Mitchell has reached the elite career milestone of 3 million miles of safe driving. Mitchell is the ninth Con-way Truckload driver in the 57-year history of the company to achieve that record.

A professional truck driver since 1962, Mitchell joined Con-way Truckload in 1981. He now typically drives local and trailer-recovery runs. Mitchell currently lives in Joplin, Mo., with his wife, Lynda. In his spare time, he enjoys camping, fishing, hunting and riding his motorcycle.

Con-way also announced its monthly driver award recipients for October, November and December 2008:

Company Driver of the Month: Butch Untiedt of Trenton, Mo., began his professional driving career in 1976 and joined Con-way in 1986. Butch says his favorite part of the job is getting to see the country.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers

Company Team of the Month: Mark and Peggy Dahlberg of Neosho, Mo., have been driving together for Con-way since 2002. Together they have driven more than 1.6 million miles with the company.

Contractor Driver of the Month: Roberto Silva of Brownsville, Texas, left a career in education to become a professional driver 10 years ago and joined Con-way in 2000.

Contractor Team of the Month: Gary and Nora Bulen.

Company Driver of the Month: George Cook.

Company Team of the Month: Daniel and Marie Hooghouse of Apopka, Fla., have been driving together professionally for seven years. When not out on the road, they enjoy riding their motorcycles.

Contractor Driver of the Month: Santos Rangel of Mesquite, Texas, became a professional driver in 1994 and joined Con-way in 2001. Santos was inspired to pursue driving as a career by his parents and two brothers-in-law, all of whom have driven professionally.

Contractor Team of the Month: Allan and Marian Bruton of Tulsa, Okla., both began their professional driving careers with Con-way in 1988 and have driven more than 2 million miles each.

Company Driver of the Month: Donald Westerlund of Lakewood, N.Y., has been driving professionally for more than 32 years and has logged 500,000 miles since joining Con-way in 2005.

Company Team of the Month: Jeff and Ja’neen Cannamore of Jacksonville, Texas, have driven more than 2.7 million miles together since they joined Con-way more than 13 years ago.

Contractor Driver of the Month: Phillip Sefiane of Houston, Texas, began his professional driving career in 1995 and has driven more than 850,000 miles since joining Con-way in 2003.
Contractor Team of the Month: Ahmet Ozbek and Ramin Badkoobeh, both of Baton Rouge, La., have been driving for more than five and four years, respectively.

Decker Recognizes Million Milers
Decker Truck Line recently recognized some new additions to the company’s prestigious Million Mile Team. The inductees for 2008 who have one million or more verifiable miles are Devin Tadlock of Iowa City, Iowa; Paul Sigle of Milford, Mich.; and Dean Filmer of Lake City, Iowa. Additionally, James Brown of Otho, Iowa; John Kilmer of Fort Dodge, Iowa; Alvin “Doug” Johnson of Kanawha, Iowa; and John Robertson of Farmington, Iowa, who are current members of the Million Mile Team, were recognized for achieving 2 million miles. Dan Liska of Garner, Iowa, and Rodney Irwin of Fort Dodge, Iowa, who are current members of the Million Mile Team, were recognized for achieving 3 million miles.

Schneider Logistics Receives Diversity Award
Schneider Logistics has been recognized for its exceptional service with the ArvinMeritor 2007 Supplier Diversity Tier 1 Supplier of the Year Award. With this award, ArvinMeritor, a premier global supplier of a broad range of integrated systems, modules and components to the motor vehicle industry, lauds Schneider’s critical assistance in signing on carriers from a variety of ethnic backgrounds to meet the company’s minority spending goals. Schneider is the first recipient of this award.

Maverick Fourth-Quarter Drivers of the Month
Maverick Transportation announced the fourth-quarter recipients of Driver of the Month honors for 2008. Honorees were October Driver of the Month Marcus Rush of Russellville, Ark., November Driver of the Month Steve Lee of Beebe, Ark., and December Driver of the Month Royce Simons of Mountain View, Ark. According to Maverick, each driver is a leader in the company’s fleet and all have received numerous safety awards and company honors from the Arkansas-based carrier.

Marten Transport Drivers of the Month
Marten Transport recently announced their Drivers of the Month for November 2008. Marten recognizes these professional drivers for their commitment to operating safely and congratulates them on their outstanding effort: Doran Strange and Rusty Wales, Charles Mock, Gary Atwood, Terry Lawrence, John Lundy, Olive Bogan, Edward C. Hildebrand II, Cary Goble, Ken Scacco, Vlado Keskic, Theresa Moan, Raymond V. Lamb, George Carlson, Fay Russell, Bryant Rockwell, Anthony McGee, Ken Richardson Jr., Robert Nowacki, Henry Martinez, John Workman, Sidney Koopmans, Ricky Hanna, Mark Budd, Bert Nordquist, Ray Quesada, Tim Dow, Lawrence Gray, Jerry Drazny and Curtis Webb.