FMCSA suspends hours regs for certain drivers in 12 states ahead of winter storm

user-gravatar Headshot

Drivers hauling heating fuel and other essential supplies in 12 midwestern and eastern states are receiving a reprieve from hours of service regulations in anticipation of the upcoming winter storm expected in the region.

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration issued a Regional Emergency Declaration that includes Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Pennsylvania, New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Vermont, New Hampshire and Maine.

The declaration waives hours of service regulations for drivers transporting heating fuel such as propane, natural gas and heating oil, and other fuel products, including gasoline and diesel.

The Winter Storm Harper is expected to bring blizzard conditions to the affected states, dumping as much as 40 inches of snow in some areas over the weekend, according to Accuweather.

The Weather Channel predicts parts of interior Northeast and New England are likely to have between one and three feet of snow. Icy conditions are also expected on roadways as rain becomes freezing rain or sleet.