July 2001

Fleets receive safety awards

Smithway Motor Xpress, Des Moines, Iowa, received an award for accident prevention from the Iowa-Illinois Safety Council during the 48th Annual Professional Development Conference.

Howell’s Motor Freight received the 2001 Grand Trophy for Fleet Safety from the Virginia Trucking Association. Overnite Transportation driver Bennett Edwards was named 2001 Virginia Truck Driver of the Year by the association.

Horizon Tank Lines, Durham, N.C., and Paschall Truck Lines, Murray, Ky., each received a Platinum award from Great West Casualty Company as part of the 2000 National Fleet Safety Awards Program.

Roadway Express wins honor
Roadway Express, Akron, Ohio, was named the 2001 LTL Nationwide Carrier of the Year by the National Small Shipments Traffic Conference. Roadway has received the award for 12 consecutive years.

Awards & Recognition

· CFI, Joplin, Mo., announced its March awards: Elroy White, Company Driver of the Month; Duke and Sharon Locas, Company Team of the Month; Wilfredo Col