Fleet Focus – August 2009

Navy veteran named 2008 Arkansas Driver of the Year
The Arkansas Trucking Association named German émigré Toni Chandler (Antje Luitjens) its 2008 Driver of the Year. Already retired from the U.S. Navy as a Petty Officer First Class when she joined CalArk International Inc. in 1995, she has since logged more than 1.8 million miles with the company with no accidents or moving violations.

Con-way Freight company drivers David Frayser and Tim Lee each achieved two million miles of safe driving, and fleet driver Michael Hemmiger was named 2008 Line Driver of the Year by the Oregon Trucking Associations . . . John Christner Trucking, based in Sapulpa, Okla., named owner-operator Arthur Miller its May Driver of the Month . . . Eagan, Minn.-based Transport America honored Ron Shrout for driving three million miles safely and his wife and team driver, Peggy Shrout, for two million miles.

Estes Express Lines, based in Richmond, Va., recently opened a new 12-door terminal in Hope, Ark., with nine employees . . . Old Dominion Freight Line Inc., based in Thomasville, N.C., has relocated its service center in Commerce City, Colo., from 6305 E. 58th Ave., to a 150-door facility on 28 acres at 5601 Holly St.

Liquid bulk carrier DistTech Inc., based in Newbury, Ohio, has opened a 1,000-sq.-ft. terminal with two acres of parking on the Cincinnati-Dayton Road near I-75 in West Chester, Ohio.

Showcase your workhorse
Add a photo of your rig to our Reader Rigs collection to share it with your peers and the world. Tell us the story behind the truck and your business to help build its story.
Submit Your Rig
Reader Rig Submission