Fleet Focus – September 2009

Dart Transit, Lisa Motor Lines name Contractors of the Year
Al Beck, Randy House and Harvey Zander were named 2008 Contractors of the Year by Dart Transit, based in St. Paul, Minn. House has accrued more than a half-million miles safe since his four years with the fleet. Beck, April 2008 Overdrive Trucker of the Month, has been with the company for 24 years and received the Three Million Mile Safety Award from the National Safety Council. Zander has hauled with Dart for 29 years and is a former Overdrive Trucker of the Year.

Ft. Worth, Texas-based reefer division of FFE Inc.,Lisa Motor Lines, named Stephen Lasley Contractor of the Year 2008, while Richard and Gary Nix received the Team of the Year 2008 award.

Cookeville, Tenn.-based Averitt Express was selected as Wal-Mart’s 2008 Rising Star Carrier of the Year. . . . Decker Truck Lines Inc., based in Fort Dodge, Iowa, recently selected Jim Rowe in the fleet’s flatbed division and Larry Larson in the van/reefer segment as May Drivers of the Month. . . . FFE Inc., based in Lancaster, Texas, honored William Harry for driving two million miles accident-free and Arthur Ferrel, Perry Shilling and Arturo Tarazona for reaching the one-million mile mark free of accidents. . . . Marten Transport’s May Drivers of the Month are Arthur Cantu, Joe Cravillion, Sandra Dash, Izzy Dubois, David Engle, Bernie Freeman, Jonathan Forer, Robert Gericke, Therial G. Gregory, Doug Hale, Luis Jimenez, Samuel Jones, Matt Kolleng, Michael Leichty, Alphonse Nicholas, Bob Oimoen, Gerald Paul, Ru Sindberg, Brian Tyler, William Wentz and Johnny Zimmerman. . . . Cedar Rapids, Iowa-based West Side Transport announced Mariane Foerst, Charles Hollon, Tom Jolly and Gary Peldo as Drivers of the Month for the first quarter of 2009.

Showcase your workhorse
Add a photo of your rig to our Reader Rigs collection to share it with your peers and the world. Tell us the story behind the truck and your business to help build its story.
Submit Your Rig
Reader Rig Submission