Fleet Focus

West Side Transport Driver of the Year honored

Will Parrish was selected as the 2009 Driver of the Year for West Side Transport, based in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Parrish is eligible to compete in the Iowa Motor Carriers Championship in 2011. The yearly award is drawn from the dry van carrier’s Drivers of the Month from 2009. Other than Parrish, who was honored in July, they are Tom Jolly (January), Mariane Foerst (February), Charles Hollon (March), Gary Peldo (April), Robert Brislin and Christopher Griffin (May), Jim Turman (June), Kenneth Robert (August), Dana Truby (September), Mark Bogle (October), Ed Redding (November) and Paul Mountain (December).


Decker Truck Line raised its pay rates from a range of 34-36 cents per mile to a range of 37-39 cents per mile for all new and current drivers, effective mid-February. . . . Shreveport, La.-based Tango Transport LLC will add 200 jobs this year, most of which will be commercial truck driver jobs, the carrier announced.



Dart Transit Co., based in Eagan, Minn., named owner-operators Tom Odoan and George Mowry as the dry van carrier’s February Contractors of the Month. . . . Fort Dodge, Iowa-based Decker Truck Line Inc. named January Drivers of the Month, who are Jim Jarrett in the flatbed division and Dennis Nelson in the reefer/van division. . . . Gentle Giant Moving Co., based in Somerville, Mass., has been named the nation’s top independent moving company for 2009 by the American Moving & Storage Association. . . . Marten Transport, based in Mondovi, Wis., honored Brian Bomberger and John Sloboda Jr. for safely driving 2 million miles and Bob McKay and Neil Meyer for the safe driving of 3 million miles. n

Showcase your workhorse
Add a photo of your rig to our Reader Rigs collection to share it with your peers and the world. Tell us the story behind the truck and your business to help build its story.
Submit Your Rig
Reader Rig Submission