Fleet Focus

Arkansas Trucking Association Driver of the Year named

CalArk International driver Christopher Patton was named 2010 Arkansas Truck Driver of the Year, the Arkansas Trucking Association announced. Patton logged his fleet’s best fuel mileage in 2010. The fleet won the association’s 2010 Truckload Van & Reefer Division’s award for Corporate Fleet Safety and the gold and bronze awards for Self Insurers’ Fund Safety Performance.


Less-than-truckload carrier Con-way Freight won the California Trucking Association’s first-place awards for short hauls over 4 million miles and linehauls over 7 million miles and its safety program received top honors among fleets grossing more than $10 million in revenue… Decker Truck Line Inc., based in Fort Dodge, Iowa, awarded May Driver of the Month honors to Dale Leman in the flatbed division and Lloyd Evans in the reefer-van division… Prime Inc.’s April Drivers of the Month are John Fickett, Shawn Rullens, Stacey Woodward and Tye Woodward (reefer division); Darold Dooling and Jerald Thomas (flatbed division); and Gregory Vandergriff and Tracy Vierhout (tanker division).


Hornady Transportation, based in Monroeville, Ala., increased company driver pay by 1 cent, making the maximum 45 cents a mile, and offered a sign-on bonus of an extra 2 cents on all dispatched miles run… Prime Inc. raised minimum pay for owner-operators in reefer and flatbed segments to $1.02 per mile…Green Bay, Wis.-based Schneider National upped pay to 95 cents per mile, a 5-cent increase, for owner-operators in the dry van segment.

Showcase your workhorse
Add a photo of your rig to our Reader Rigs collection to share it with your peers and the world. Tell us the story behind the truck and your business to help build its story.
Submit Your Rig
Reader Rig Submission