Fleet Focus

Fleets named First Guard safety award winners

Owner-operator fleets Ace Doran Hauling & Rigging Co. (Cincinnati), Beelman Truck Co. (East St. Louis, Ill.), M.C. Tank Transport Inc. (West Chester, Ohio) and Northwest Logistics Heavy Haul (Oklahoma City) won First Guard Insurance Co.’s 2011 fleet safety awards. Low claims during the past year and safety practices are criteria on which the awards are based.


Dot Transportation Inc. honored its first driver to log 4 million safe miles, Dick Kramberg, who has driven for the fleet for 36 years. The Mt. Sterling, Ill.-based fleet also recognized Randy Dieterle, Monti Estes, Zane Keylor, Dale Little, Jim Mashburn, Bob Patton, Monty Stabler and Wayne Thomas for driving 3 million miles safely…Family-owned refrigerated carrier Freymiller, based in Oklahoma City, awarded its 2011 Driver of the Year honors to Chris Carver, owner-operator; Donald Kendrick, company driver; and Beth Sarver and Michael Sarver, team drivers… Prime Inc., based in Springfield, Mo., named the following drivers as 2011 Contractors of the Year: In the reefer division, independent team contractors James Burrow and Jeff Johnson, company driver Edgard Lopez, company team drivers Shane Morgan and Johnna Morgan. In the flatbed division, independent team contractors Samuel Gonzales, company team drivers Todd Newcomb and Virginia Newcomb, owner-operator Clinton Brown and company driver Andre Bryan. Fleet driver Thomas Miller was also named August Driver of the Month by the Missouri Trucking Association.


Liberty, Mo.-based American Central Transport Inc. raised hazmat credential to $1 per loaded miles for owner-operators… Hill Brothers Transportation Inc. increased per-mile pay for team drivers by 1 cent, company drivers by 2 cents and owner-operators by 3 cents.