Pride and Honor

Harley Incentive
Maverick Transportation, Inc. launched a recruiting incentive in which they will give away a new 100th anniversary Harley-Davidson Springer Softail motorcycle. Themed “Cruise into 2004 on a new Harley-Davidson,” the contest started in September and runs through December.

Each Maverick employee referring a new driver who completes orientation and every driver who is hired during this time period will be eligible for the drawing to be held on Jan. 5, 2004.
The company implements a comprehensive Driver Referral Program annually with an emphasis on rewarding employees for their dedication to the fleet and the future of the company.
To learn more about the giveaway, visit

Star Drivers
Star Transportation honored 35 drivers in September with Safe Driving Awards for their commitment to safety.

Drivers recognized were: Ken Garrett, 17 years; James Moore, 16 years; Lee Pace, 11 years; Robert Rosser, 11 years; Paul Brokaw, 10 years; Charles Mayo, 10 years; Mike Lynch, nine years; Paul Jenkins, eight years; Barry Moore, six years; Burt Hadley, six years; Billy Furnace, six years; Lee Fletcher, five years; Billie Burgess, five years; Russell Dickerson, five years; Jerry Tollett, four years; Jerry Wilson, four years; William Esbrandt, four years; Bruce Johnson, four years; Henry Gay, four years.

Additional safe drivers include Stacy Bradford, three years; Joseph Light, three years; Ken Reager, three years; Kevin Hall, two years; James Simmons, two years; Richard Mingle, two years; John Hinds, two years; Craig Doyle, two years; Henry Hill, two years; Hubert Sively, two years; Ruth Sampson, one year; Jahka Foxx, one year; William Tobe, one year; Terry Lynch, one year; James Keith, one year; and Johnny Allen, one year.

Top Three Carriers
The American Trucking Associations named three motor carriers as winners of its 2003 National Truck Safety Contest. The companies, representing large, mid-size and small fleets, are ABF Freight System Inc. of Fort Smith, Ark.; Pitt Ohio Express of Pittsburgh, Pa.; and CLI Transport of Altoona, Pa.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers
The ALL NEW Rand Tablet
Presented by Rand McNally

The winning companies, judged to have the best overall safety programs and records of safety initiatives among contest entries, were presented with ATA’s President’s Trophy during ATA’s Management Conference and Exhibition in San Antonio, Texas, in October.

Wal-Mart Recognizes Schneider National
Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. recently recognized Schneider National Inc. as the recipient of the company’s annual Intermodal Carrier of the Year award.

Selection criteria for the award included revenue/growth, ease of doing business, communication, flexibility, customer service and follow-up/correction of errors.
Schneider National provides truckload, intermodal and dedicated services for Wal-Mart’s transportation network.

National Van Lines Honors Agents
National Van Lines recently recognized its top hauling agents for 2001 and 2002. Honored were American Way Van & Storage (Dayton, Ohio), represented by Bobby and Diana Vann; Mercury Movers, Inc. (South Gate, Calif.), represented by Ruben and Maria Gil; John and Mubeena Rockey from Rockey’s Van Lines (Killeen, Texas), and Bill Gerber of Gerber Moving & Storage (Bonner Springs, Kan.).

The company also presented awards for longevity with the van line. CEO Maureen Beal handed out awards to Arnell Mumford of AMC Relocations, Inc. (Waldorf, Md.) and Richard King of King Moving & Storage (Valdosta, Ga.) for their 10-year achievement; Pat Kelly of Valley Moving & Storage (Mt. Vernon, Wash.) for his 15-year commitment; Steven Hernandez of Active Moving & Storage (Pensacola, Fla.) and John and Rhona Boyce of A-Plus Van & Storage (Norfolk, Va.) for hitting their 20-year milestone of van line representation. Maureen also honored Judy and Ervin Marshburn of Piedmont Van & Storage (Fayetteville, N.C.) for their 25 years of service and accepted the 50-year service award on behalf of Gary Plummer, Peninsula Moving & Storage (Salinas, Cal.).

Magazine Recognizes Heartland Express
Heartland Express was ranked as one of the “Hot Growth Companies” for 2003, according to the June 9 edition of Business Week. Heartland was ranked 81st out of the 100 companies on the annual listing.

The magazine reported Heartland’s current sales results for the latest 12 months as $362.3 with earnings of $44.3. The three-year average of return on capital was reported as 15 percent, increase in sales of 9.1 percent and increase in profits of 9 percent.

Driving Champs
Averitt Express recently held its company-wide 2003 Driving Safety Championships at its service center location in Cookeville, Tenn.

Participating in the one-day competition were 15 drivers from Averitt’s network of more than 80 service centers throughout the Southeast.

The Grand Champion was James Blackstone of Dothan, Ala. Second place went to Bill Moser of Atlanta, and third place went to Brent Hawks of Asheville, N.C.

Other drivers who competed in the event included Ronnie McConnell of Austin, Texas; Oakley Vaughn of Bowling Green, Ky.; David Livingston of Cookeville, Tenn.; James Surratt of Charlotte, N.C.; George Holland of Charlotte, N.C.; Jerry Butts of Greenville, N.C.; Michael Davis of Greenville, S.C.; Everett Wiler of Jackson, Tenn.; Brian Mauldin of Atlanta; Steve Heltzel of Tampa, Fla.; Scott Cochrane of Tampa, Fla., and Andy Sparling of Tifton, Ga. n

Ryder Drivers Win Trip
Ryder System, Inc. awarded its annual “Driver of the Year” honors to three drivers who, combined, have driven more than 12 million preventable collision-and-violation-free miles and have more than 100 years of professional driving experience.

Each recipient will receive a five-day, four- night cruise to Key West, Fla., and Cozumel, Mexico, a trophy, and will be inducted into the Ryder Driver Hall of Fame.

David Baba was named Ryder’s Fleet Management Solutions Driver of the Year 2002. Baba has worked with Ryder as a member of the Sweetheart Cup Co., Inc. facility located in Hartford, Conn., since 1979. During his tenure with this Fleet Management Solutions customer, Baba achieved more than 2.5 million collision-and-violation-free miles.

John Finley was named Driver of the Year 2002 for Ryder’s Supply Chain Solutions business segment. Based in Olive Branch, Miss., he has served Ryder’s Mazda Olive Branch since 1998 in its automotive parts supply division. He has been a Ryder employee for more than 10 years, and during his tenure, Finley has driven more than 1 million miles without a preventable collision or traffic violation and has logged more than 4.5 million miles throughout his professional career, which began in 1954.

William Ingram was named Driver of the Year 2002 for Ryder’s Dedicated Contract Carriage business segment. Ingram is based in Dallas and for nearly three years has served Ryder’s Atrium account. He has exceeded 4.5 collision-and-violation-free miles since he began driving professionally in 1968.

CFI Drivers of the Month
Contract Freighters Inc. has named its July 2003 drivers of the month.

Company Driver of the Month was Dennis Platt of DeWitt, Iowa, who has been with CFI for seven years. Company Team Driver of the Month was awarded to Allan Barr of Covelo, Calif., and Adrianne France of Fairbanks, Alaska. Both joined the company in 2002.

Contractor of the Month was Ronnie Crewe of Hayes, Va., who joined CFI in 1999.

Contractor Team of the Month went to Jose and Anna Soto of Farmersville, Texas, who joined CFI in 2002.

Winners are automatically nominated for the 2003 year-end award in their respective categories.

The Business Manual for Owner-Operators
Overdrive editors and ATBS present the industry’s best manual for prospective and committed owner-operators. You’ll find exceptional depth on many issues in the Partners in Business book, updated annually.
Partners in Business Issue Cover