Stars of the Road

Sitton Safety Awards
The American Trucking Association recently awarded Sitton Motor Lines three safety awards for 2002. The carrier won third place in the ATA National Truck Safety Contest Safe Fleet Award – Local 0-20 Million Mile Division; second place in the ATA Industrial Safety Contest Safe Fleet Award – 301-1000 employee division, and second place in the ATA National Truck Safety Contest Safe Fleet Award – Over-the-Road 50-100 Million Mile Division.

Two Milestones
Lou Wallie Earls, a driver for FirstFleet since August 1987, recently celebrated two professional milestones in one day: driving 2 million miles safely and his 16th anniversary with the company. FirstFleet, a dedicated carrier based in Tennessee, has three drivers who have reached this milestone.

Star Drivers
Star Transportation honored 21 drivers in October with Safe Driving Awards for their continued safety records.

Recognized were: Rodney Peterson, 19 years; Robert Wright, 15 years; Herb Watson, 10 years; Dale Dehart, eight years; Roy Bayles, eight years; Gary Brock, seven years; Richard Gamble, six years; Jerry Copeland, five years; Jack Rumsey, four years; Allen Miller, four years; Larry Cross, four years; Allen Voss, three years; John Hardin, three years; Charles Fraley, three years; Edward Tamanini, two years; Richard Donaldson, one year; James Burns, one year; Nelson Monsanto, one year; Billy Malone, one year; Curtis McDavid, one year; and Stephen Hoff, one year.

For the month of November, Star honored 20 drivers with Safe Driving Awards. They were: Robert Hurte, 10 years; George Russ, nine years; Bobby Barry, nine years; Rico Gonzalez, eight years; Raymond Young, eight years; Don Price, six years; Merrill Livingston, five years; William Pierce, four years; Jerry Ford, four years; Dwayne Foster, three years; John Harmon, two years; Joseph Fields, two years; Ronald Saunders, two years; Carl Johnson, two years; Robin Vierheller, two years; Michael Adkins, two years; Donald Doss, one year; Teresa Fort, one year; Teresa Emerson, one year, and Samuel Mays, one year.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers
The ALL NEW Rand Tablet
Presented by Rand McNally
BlueParrott B350-XT
Presented by BlueParrott

Melton Pay Package
Melton Truck Lines has announced an improved pay package that will offer new drivers 32 cents per mile when they come to the company with less than three years of experience, 33 cents with three to five years of experience and 34 cents with at least five years of experience. This base pay can increase up to 39 cents per mile.

In addition to the base pay, all drivers will also receive 1 cent per mile bonus each quarter that they meet safe, professional driving criteria and a $75 bonus for each load they deliver to the boroughs of New York City.

PTL Honorees
Paschall Truck Lines recognized Juan DeLos Reyes as its Company Driver of the Month for July 2003 and Mike McChristian as its Owner-Operator of the Month.

Reyes has been with PTL for 11 of the 18 years that he’s been a truck driver. Prior to becoming a driver, he served in the U.S. Army for four years. In addition to being named driver of the month, Reyes has also achieved 1,400,000 safe driving miles.

McChristian has been with PTL for five of the 32 years he’s been driving professionally. In addition to this award, he has also achieved 600,000 safe driving miles and was named the July 2002 Owner-Operator Driver of the Month.

Million Milers
USA Truck Inc. recently added 22 employees to its roster of safe drivers.

Joining the 47 current members of USA’s President’s Million Mile Club are: Jessie Caudle, Roy Cook, John Darrow, Preston Dent, Kirk Dickey, Charles Finney, Gene Larsen, Richard Leach, Russell Higgins, William Holley, Alfred Huebner, Tom Miller, Kennith Nichols,
Ace O’Neal, Curtis Ourso, John Runnels, David Slama, Dan Taylor, Don Temple, Robert Trout, Gerald White and Jim Yancy.

Barr-Nunn Drivers
Barr-Nunn Transportation recently recognized two drivers who reached 1 million safe driving miles with the company. The drivers recognized were William “Bill” Overman, a company driver who has been with Barr-Nunn since July of 1992, and Don Ricklefs, an owner-operator who has been with Barr-Nunn since July of 1999.

CFI Drivers of the Month
Contract Freighters Inc. has named its September 2003 drivers of the month.

Company Driver of the Month was Edward Davis of Yoakum, Texas, who joined CFI in 1996. Company Team Driver of the Month was awarded to Tony and Janet Heath of Ludington, Mich., who joined the company six years ago.

Contractor of the Month was Leonard Domina of Sparta, Mich., who has been with CFI for 12 years.

Contractor Team of the Month went to John and Sherri Dillinger of Grove, Okla., who joined CFI four years ago.