ATA Names 30 Road Team Finalists

The American Trucking Associations named 30 truck drivers as finalists in the competition to become captains on the 2003 America’s Road Team.

America’s Road Team, the trucking industry’s premier ambassador group, is sponsored by Volvo Trucks North America.

The 2003 Road Team, to be announced April 9, will spend the next 12 months representing the industry to the news media, civic organizations and legislative bodies.

The 30 finalists are: Ruben V. Armendariz, ABF Freight System; Arthur (Otto) Schmeckenbecher, ABF Freight System; Garland L. Woods, ABF Freight System; David Gardner, Bi-Lo; Richard Hinkle, Con-Way Central Express; John Maddox, Con-Way Southern Express; Ross Reynolds, Con-Way Western Express; Gerard Avossa, FedEx Freight East; Craig Farnham FedEx Ground; Michael Nardone, FedEx Ground; Bill Wood, FedEx Ground; Richard Gorham, Jack Cooper Transport Co.; Robert Carter Jr., Jevic Transportation; Richard Proctor, Midwest Coast Transport; Ralph Hamilton, Old Dominion Freight Line; William Adams, Overnite Transportation; Anthony Cesenaro, Overnite Transportation; Charles (Skip) Goodrich Jr., Overnite Transportation; William G. Gray Jr., Overnite Transportation; Clarence Jenkins Jr., Overnite Transportation; Jeff Arnold, Penske Logistics; Dennis McBride Jr., Penske Logistics; Albert Adams, Roadway Express; Charon Crites, Roadway Express; James Wages, Roadway Express; Michael Belter, Schneider National; Danny Ewell, Wal-Mart Stores; Joseph Drugo, Ward Trucking Corp.; Herb McArthur, Werner Enterprises; and Michael E. Smucker, Yellow Transportation.