Trucker Wins Rig

A delighted Oral Perry (l) accepts the keys to his prize – a 2000 Freightliner Classic XL.

An Illinois trucker received the keys to a 2000 Freightliner Classic XL as the winner of the Great Big Rig Sweepstakes sponsored by DaimlerChrysler Services.

Oral Perry of Pittsburgh, Ill., won the truck as part of a promotion of DaimlerChrysler Services Truck Finance. He received the keys at the Mid-America Trucking Show in Louisville, Ky. Perry, a driver for more than 25 years, is an owner-operator leased to Landstar Systems. Perry and his wife, Sherry, have three children and six grandchildren.

In addition to DCS, sponsors of the sweepstakes include: Trucking 2000, Trucker’s Connection, DaimlerChrysler Services Commercial Vehicles, XM Satellite Radio and others.

Wheel Master Award

TMC Transportation honored driver Mike LaVigne with the 2002 Wheel Master Award.

LaVigne has been with TMC since January 1992. He is currently a John Deere specialized driver.
The Wheel Master Program was created as a way to recognize TMC’s best drivers. Each quarter a driver is given Wheel Master distinction based on years of service with the company, safe driving record and overall quality performance.

CFI Drivers of The Month

Contract Freighters Inc. named its January 2003 drivers of the month.

Company Driver of the Month was Refugio Cortez of Victoria, Texas, who joined CFI six years ago. Company Team Driver of the Month was awarded to Rusty and Theresa Wilson of Alstyne, Texas, who both joined CFI in 2001.

Contractor of the Month was Ricky Hilaire of Alamogordo, N.M., who joined the company in 1996. Contractor Team of the Month went to Rick and Betty Pendergrass of Aurora, Mo., who both joined CFI in 1996.

Winners are automatically nominated for the 2003 year-end award in their respective category.

Saia Wins Silver

Lowe’s Home Improvement Warehouse presented Saia with the 2002 Silver Team Award. It was the second consecutive year that Saia has received a distinguished award from Lowe’s. Last year Saia received the Bronze Team Award.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers
The ALL NEW Rand Tablet
Presented by Rand McNally

“Saia demonstrates daily attention to our business with the same degree of passion that Lowe’s expects from its employee owners,” said Robert Long, LTL services manager for Lowe’s. “Additionally, Saia reviews shared inbound processes with Lowe’s to help sustain an advantage over our competition. Saia has worked hard to earn this well-deserved award.”

Million Milers

East Coast Leasing Inc. has initiated a safety award program honoring accident-free miles. Ten drivers have achieved 2 million accident-free miles. An additional 25 surpassed 1 million accident-free miles.

The 2-million-miles recipients are: Doug Wood, Larry Lohr, James Simpson, Jerry Collins, Teddy Martin, Monnie Dean, Sammy Grogg, Richard Bushong, Bob Marston and Charles Weatherholtz.
The 1-million-miles recipients are: Calvin Hutchins, James Pierce, Richard Joyce, Stanley Cottrell, Lonnie Mullins, Larry Taylor, Ray Eger, Jim Blackman, Mark Hubbell, Brian Spurgin, Ron McTernon, John Boyd, Ken Huntley, Clyde Jones, Thomas Pinnix, Jim Fowler, Richard Long, Rodney Young, Joe Price, Jackie Belcher, Brad Bircham, Greg Smith, Ken Oxenrider, Ed Wickes and Greg Causey.

Star Drivers

Star Transportation of Nashville, Tenn., honored 18 of their drivers in March for commitment to safety on the road.

Recognized were: Gene Johnson, 16 years; Donald Boone, 10 years; Steve Dozier, seven years; Johnnie Johnson, six years; Thomas Foster, five years; Jimmy Ashley, five years; John Sherrill, four years; Jack Lamance, three years; William Schwoebel, two years; James McDaniel, two years; William Baker, one year; James Courter, one year; Kenneth Titcombe, one year; Darrel Riffe, one year; Tishawbay Cain, one year; Owen Kallert, one year; Eric Isenhower, one year; and Jeffrey Newman, one year.

Referral Program

Maverick Transportation Inc. recently kicked off a new driver referral program. The new plan includes a $500 payment for each of the first two drivers who are referred and hired. A $1,000 bonus will be given for the third hire, paid to the Maverick driver turning in the referral. Each quarter, the driver with the most referrals will receive an additional $500. In addition to these cash incentives, Maverick will also announce a referral winner of the year.

This winner will be the driver with the most referrals still employed by Maverick at the end of 2003. The winner will receive a paid vacation package valued at $1,700, as well as $500 spending money.

The Business Manual for Owner-Operators
Overdrive editors and ATBS present the industry’s best manual for prospective and committed owner-operators. You’ll find exceptional depth on many issues in the Partners in Business book, updated annually.
Partners in Business Issue Cover