Fleet Insider

CalArk driver named Arkansas’ top hauler
Toni Chandler was named the Arkansas Trucking Association’s 2008 Driver of the Year. Chandler and her husband, Leslie Paugh, live in Benton, Ark. She joined CalArk in December 1995 and has logged more than 1.8 million safe miles with no accidents, no moving violations and 100 percent on-time delivery.

Marten recognizes Drivers of the Month
Marten Transport’s May Drivers of the Month were Johnny Zimmerman, Joe Cravillion, Robert Gericke, Gerald Paul, Luis Jimenez, Bob Oimoen, Therial G. Gregory, Michael Leichty, Jonathan Forer, Doug Hale, Sandra Dash, Arthur Cantu, Alphonse Nicholas, Bernie Freeman, David Engle, Ru Sindberg, Matt Kolleng, Brian Tyler, Samuel Jones, William Wentz and Izzy Dubois. Qualifying drivers must meet a minimum of 10,500 miles for that month, have no accidents during the month and have 100 percent on-time deliveries.

John Christner Trucking awards driver of the month
John Christner Trucking awarded driver Aurther Miller as its May Driver of the Month. The company says Miller has been a loyal and dedicated driver for JCT since last year but has been an owner-operator for the last 15. He was named May Driver of the Month because of his positive attitude and reliability. The company says he has earned a reputation for both and runs great miles. He also had the best fuel mileage out of the whole fleet last quarter.

FFE and Lisa Motor Lines recognize drivers
FFE Inc., headquartered in Lancaster, Texas, and its Ft. Worth-based refrigerated division, Lisa Motor Lines, recognized drivers and owner-operators for excellent safety records, overall performance and exceptional acts of kindness or courtesy. Twelve drivers were honored for their commitment to safety and their long-term accident-free records. FFE’s William Harry was recognized for reaching 2 million miles accident free, while Arthur Ferrel, Perry Shilling and Arturo Tarazona reached the million mile mark. From Lisa Motor Lines, drivers Anthony Brown, Simon Forbes and Bill Rogers achieved 2 million accident-free miles. Reaching the 1 million mile mark were David Wharton and Don Powell. Also from Lisa Motor Lines, Stephen Lasley was named Contractor of the Year 2008 while Richard and Gary Nix received the Team of the Year 2008 award.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers

Horizon named carrier of the year
Horizon Lines has been named Jones Act Carrier of the Year for 2008 by Wal-Mart Stores. The award is presented each year to a domestic ocean carrier to recognize best-in-class schedule reliability and exceptional customer service.

Con-way drivers achieve 2 million safe miles
Whittington, Ill., resident David Frayser, a driver sales representative for Con-way Freight, has achieved 2 million miles. He safely drove the miles between 1988 and 2009 and reached the milestone on May 2. Frayser has been a professional truck driver for 27 years
Broken Arrow, Okla., resident Mary Kile became Con-way Freight’s second female driver to achieve 2 million accident-free miles. She began her career with Con-way Freight in 1989. She also drove professionally while serving in the U.S. Marine Corps from 1982 to 1988.

Decker names drivers of the month
Decker Truck Line recently announced the company’s May Drivers of the Month. Winner for the flatbed division was Jim Rowe. Rowe and his wife Tammy live in Marseilles, Ill., with their four children. Larry Larson was named Driver of the Month for the van/reefer division. He lives in Luana, Iowa, with his wife Zella and their five children.

Load One joins SmartWay
Load One has joined the SmartWay Transport Partnership. Load One will contribute to the partnership’s goal to cut 33 to 66 million metric tons of carbon dioxide and up to 200,000 tons of nitrogen oxide per year by 2012 by improving the environmental performance of its freight operations. Load One has implemented several environmentally-minded programs, including recycling, energy efficient lighting, speed reduction and the use of satellite technology to monitor fuel consumption and idle time. These efforts by employees and contractors have helped increase efficiency and reduce dependence on fossil fuel, the company says.

Swift receives multiple awards
Swift Transportation was named the Carrier of the Year by Lowe’s for the fifth consecutive year for exemplary customer service and value-added partnership. In addition, Swift was recognized with the Gold Service Award for a combined on-time service greater then 99 percent in all Van, Dedicated, Intermodal and Flat Bed fleets. Swift also was recognized as the 2008 Performance Carrier of the Year by Dollar General. Swift received the award based on its 99.7 percent on-time performance for 2008. This is the highest level of service in Dollar General’s network of 40 core carriers. Swift was recognized by Wal-Mart as its 2008 Truckload Carrier of the Year. Swift has been a major carrier in the Wal-Mart holiday blitz surge program since early 2002 and has been one of Wal-Mart’s largest general merchandise traffic and dedicated grocery carriers for seven years. Swift was named National Carrier of the Year by Kellogg’s for the second consecutive year and as Southwest Carrier of the Year by Quaker Oats.

Hanjin Shipping awarded for software
Profit Tools, provider of intermodal enterprise management software to trucking companies, presented Hanjin Shipping Co. with an award to recognize the creation of an Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) interface for truckers. Hanjin and Profit Tools worked together to create an EDI interface that saves the drayage trucker’s back office team up to 15 minutes per Hanjin container handled, increasing efficiencies and reducing errors caused by manual processing of data.

Schneider Named Carrier of the Year
Schneider National has been named Dollar Tree’s 2008 Inbound