Fleet Insider

Con-way recognizes drivers of the month

fleetCon-way Truckload recognized 18 drivers for the third quarter as Drivers of the Month. July winners included contractor driver Marvin Peck of Bartlesville, Okla.; contractor team Kathryn Wheeler and James Fisher of Coshocton, Ohio; company driver Calvin Shaw of Blacksburg, S.C.; and company team Paul and Betsy Bowerbank of Mesa, Ariz. August winners were contractor driver John Newkirk of Jay, Okla.; contractor team Leonard “Duke” and Sharon Locas of Laredo, Texas; company driver Catherine Cronin of Knoxville, Tenn.; and company team Michael Beam of Lawndale, N.C., and Billy Weaver Michael of Shady Dale, Ga. September winners included contractor driver Ricky Hilaire of Alamogordo, N.M.; contractor team Michael and Jennifer Burns of Leechburg, Pa.; company driver Ronald Worthington of Lafayette, Ind.; and company team Travis and Sebrina Lopez of Friendswood, Texas.


Averitt, Danny Herman win clean diesel award

Averitt Express, based in Cookeville, Tenn., was among fleets honored with the Clean Diesel Leadership Award from the Tennessee Trucking Association. The new award recognizes transportation companies that have made significant, measurable improvements in air quality through the development and/or implementation of clean diesel actions.

Likewise honored was Danny Herman Trucking, based in Mountain City, Tenn., for its contribution to air quality through fuel-savings strategies. Danny Herman also has been a member of the EPA’s SmartWay program since May 2008 and has achieved the program’s highest score, a 1.25.


Greatwide announces driver safety achievements

Greatwide Logistics Services launched a program to reward company drivers and owner-operators when they reach any of six established milestones since their last preventable collision. Robert Walker was recognized for driving 2 million safe miles. Also honored were eight drivers who finished 1.5 million safe miles, 37 drivers with 1 million safe miles, 199 drivers with 500,000 safe miles, 795 drivers with 250,000 safe miles and 1,159 drivers with 100,000 safe miles.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers

Greatwide also was included in the Inbound Logistics Top 100 Motor Carrier rankings for 2009. The rankings are based on the publication’s editorial staff’s evaluation of questionnaires completed by the carriers, Internet research and personal interviews via phone and email which are used to select 100 trucking leaders from more than 300 companies that submitted their credentials.


Bon-Ton Stores awards Schneider ror service

Schneider National received the 2008 Award for Transportation Excellence given by Bon-Ton stores. Schneider’s on-time pick-up and delivery rates, along with its solid customer service, helped in the transportation provider’s selection as the repeat winner of the Award for Transportation Excellence.

Schneider also honored 19 transportation companies with its Logistics Carrier of the Year award. Winners include: Standard Forwarding Company, Inc. of East Moline, Ill.; AAA Cooper Transportation of Dothan, Ala.; TC & Sons Trucking LLC of Wolcott, Conn.: Ryan Transportation of Livonia, Mich.; JB Hunt Transport of Lowell, Ark.; Ottaway Motor Express of Woodstock, Ontario; Go To Transport of Bay City, Mich.; Triple Crown Services Company of Fort Wayne, Ind.; TST Overland Express of Mississauga, Ontario; Pitt Ohio Express of Pittsburgh, Penn.; Vitran of Indianapolis, Ind.; Con-Way Freight of Ann Arbor, Mich.; Thompson Transportation Services of Sharpsburg, Ky.; AD Transport Express of Canton, Mich.; Venture Express of LaVergne, Tenn.; Merchants Forwarding of Melvindale, Mich.; Black Horse Carriers of Carol Stream, Ill.; Heartland Express of North Liberty, Iowa; and Tom Hassel Transport of Point Pleasant, N.J.


Frito-Lay thanks otr drivers

As part of National Truck Driver Appreciation Week, PepsiCo’s Frito-Lay North America recognized 95 OTR drivers who this year reached the career milestone of driving more than 1 million, 2 million or 3 million accident-free miles.

1 Million Milers: Michael Boone, John Cortright, Tom Heise, Jeff Weaver, Todd Gabower, Dave Wells, Chris Zanoni, Darrell Zettle, George Kilgore, James McLaughlin, Mike Murray, Truitt Ashcraft, Richard Williams, Sonny Walker, Les Barker, Glenn Beverly, Ron Bonneau, Bryan Ford, Mike Herod, Bert Langford, Jim Reynolds, Joe Anderson, Ron Emberton, Jeff Linton, Jeff Merriman, Tom Milstead, Tony Rozzano, Dwayne Shafer, Brad Stinson, Jessie Bates, Kirk McCall, Ed Walker, Rey Lopez, Robert Barber, Dana Corson, Richard Mahan, Jonathan Mann, David Morrell, Vyto Lugauskas, Rick Holgate, John Whitney, Sylvain Gaudreault, Serg Hugot, Dave Craig, Dale McDonald, Ron Mission, Sam Tschetter, Dan Wilson, David Rucker, Bill Chelland, Jeffery Allen, John Barrett, Fred Cook, Mark Poff, Keith Robbins, Timothy Vickers, Ricky Wright, Santana Gonzales, Leroy Falkenberg, Scott Stigall, Charles Forman, Brad Laude, Henry Schrimer, Virgil Adamson, Gary Ongers, Trent Arrington, Richard Cleaveland, Chip Ordiway, Quinn Rich, Greg Stevens, Marvin Watson, Brian Bowman, Dave Stine and John Brewer.

2 Million Milers: Deb Davis, Dave Rickel, John Ross, Ken Strickland, Bill McKinney, Don Keyser, Collin Ilingworth, David Alexander, James Hughes, Javier Hernandez, Nancy Scott, Roy Darting, Larry Hart, Sheldon Atwell, Jim Moore and Ken Riggle.

3 Million Milers: George Newman, Lorne Roberts, Spencer Edwards and Ed Kalinowski.


ACS announces driver winners

More than a dozen drivers have been named winners in the TripPak Truck Stop Scanning Harley promotion campaign. Drivers Robert McMillon of Rock Hill, S.C., Michael Strutton of Waskom, Texas, and Brian Huff of Rough and Ready, Calif., have won gift certificates to retail chains because they used TripPak Truck Stop Scanning to send their documents into their fleets. The ultimate prize, a Harley-Davidson Fat Boy motorcycle, will be awarded at the end of the promotion.

Showcase your workhorse
Add a photo of your rig to our Reader Rigs collection to share it with your peers and the world. Tell us the story behind the truck and your business to help build its story.
Submit Your Rig
Reader Rig Submission