Fleet Insider

CRST Van Expedited offers lease-purchase program

CRST Van Expedited offers a new lease-purchase program geared toward teams. The new program, incorporating late-model equipment (2007 models) coupled with payments of less than $230 per week, allows teams to be more profitable, the company says. Experienced teams are encouraged to apply to the program, which includes a percentage pay package, fuel discounts, a maintenance program and many other perks to assist the teams.

Houg recognizes Team Reid

Left to right: James Wade Houg, President of Houg Special Services, Inc.; Randall Reid & Son, Owner of Team Reid and Jenyce Houg-Brown, CEO of Houg Special Services, Inc.

Houg Special Services awarded its Elite Carrier Quarter Award for the fourth quarter to Team Reid. Team Reid is an Independent Contractor that hauls freight for Houg.

Con-way names Drivers of the Month

Con-way Truckload named its Drivers of the Month for October, November and December 2009. October winners included company driver Butch Untiedt of Trenton, Mo.; company team Joey and Diane Woodall of Woodstock, Ga.; owner-operator William Coffman of Stockbridge, Ga.; and owner-operator team Jerry and Cheri Robinson of Prineville, Ore. November winners were company driver Keith Holden of Hays, Kan.; company team Paul Wieck and Franck Wieck of Tacoma, Wash.; owner-operator James Cory of Joplin, Mo.; and owner-operator team Art and Cyndi George of Medway, Ohio. December winners were company driver Chris Wunk of Baldwin Park, Calif.; company team Daniel and Marie Hooghouse of Apopka, Fla.; owner-operator Dennis Griffin of Rockwall, Texas; and owner-operator team Allan and Marian Bruton of Tulsa, Okla.

Con-way Freight also announced driver Brian Busch of Oak Creek, Wis., has achieved 2 million accident-free miles. The company plans to recognize his achievement in a ceremony at its Milwaukee service center, where Busch is based.

Freymiller names Drivers of the Year

Freymiller recognized three of its top professional drivers as 2009 Drivers of the Year.

Winners included Company Driver of the Year Herb Chandler of South Carolina, Team Drivers of the Year Lenny and Jaime Seaman of Oklahoma and Owner-Operator of the Year Leo Shropshire of Louisiana.


Schneider expands regional driving

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers
The ALL NEW Rand Tablet
Presented by Rand McNally

Schneider National plans to grow its regional driving fleet to 2,500 this year, offering experienced drivers across the country an opportunity to enjoy weekly time at home. Hiring will continue throughout the year and all 2,500 drivers will be in place by December. ­Schneider’s rapid expansion is due to a growing freight base within each of its five regions.

Lowe’s recognizes Southeastern

Southeastern Freight Lines was named Lowe’s 2009 Platinum Carrier of the Year for the third year in a row and was the only LTL carrier to receive the Platinum-level award, the highest designation possible from the home improvement retailer.

TCA names Best Fleets to Drive For

The Truckload Carriers Association, in conjunction with CarriersEdge, Ramp Media Group and Over The Road Canada, announced the winners of the second annual Best Fleets to Drive For survey and contest. Winners include Bison Transport of Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada; Boyd Bros. Transportation of Clayton, Ala.; Brian Kurtz Trucking of Breslau, Ontario, Canada; CalArk Trucking of Mabelvale, Ark.; Central Hauling of Mabelvale, Ark.; Coastline Transport of Fowler, Calif.; Con-Way Truckload of Joplin, Mo.; Dart Transit Company of Eagan, Minn.; Don Hummer Trucking of Oxford, Iowa; Kennesaw Transportation of Rydal, Ga.; Laidlaw Carriers Van of Guelph, Ontario, Canada; MacKinnon Transport of Guelph, Ontario, Canada; Melton Truck Lines of Tulsa, Okla.; MSM Transportation of Bolton, Ontario, Canada; Schneider National of Green Bay, Wis.; Shulist Trucking of Maple, Ontario, Canada; and Yanke Group of Companies of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada.