News From The Fleets


National Carriers announced its 2002 Drivers of the Year: co-drivers Doyle and Cathy Bruce of Scott City, Mo. Doyle has 24 years of driving experience and Cathy has 21 years. Both have driven more than 5 million accident-free miles. They were named NCI’s first Drivers of the Year for 1997.

Paschall Truck Lines recently presented Greg and Tincie Ford with the Company Driver of the Year Award and Frank Feltner with the Owner-Operator of the Year Award. The Fords, a husband-and-wife team from West Paducah, Ky., started driving together in 1989 and have been driving for PTL for more than 12 years.

Frank Feltner, a resident of London, Ky., has been driving professionally for more than 28 years. He joined Paschall Truck Lines in 1998 and has driven more than 400,000 safe miles for the company.

Melton Truck Line’s first Contractor of the Year is James McCall of Trenton, Tenn. McCall began driving with Melton in 1995 as a company driver, then became an owner-operator in 2000. His career includes nearly 1 million miles and eight years of safe driving.

Melton’s Driver of the Year for 2002 is Christopher Lodge. Lodge is from Chaparral, N.M. He has logged more than 200,000 miles in his two-year driving career with Melton.


Star Transportation, Nashville, Tenn., recently honored 26 drivers for accident-free driving: William Clark, 19 years; Gary Bailey, 11 years; Ben Brackett and Donald Boone, 10 years; Don Trisdale, nine years; Jay Thompson, eight years; Vernon Jordan and Rickie McFarland, five years; Bryan Porter, four years; Ricky Blake, Peter McMinds, Clint Kennedy and Jeffery Phillips, three years; Robert Henry, Herbert Duke, George Mick and Michael Adkins, two years; Steven Willwert, Jason Hess, Raul Flores, Robert Burden, William Gibbs, David Breeland, Joseph Wilson, Hiram Edwards and Johnny Cates, one year.

Contract Freighters’ February Contractor of the Month was John Pope of Mountain Grove, Mo. He was also the 2002 Contractor of the Year. The Contractor Team of the Month was Bill Bumgardner and Vicki St. Clair of Boerne, Texas.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers

The Company Driver of the Month was Wayne Herrington of Fort Smith, Ark., and the Company Team Driver of the Month was Jim and Shirley Edge of McAlester, Okla.

Lars Duckstad of Mentor, Minn., was presented the American Trucking Associations award for 3 million accident-free miles. He has been driving for more than 30 years and joined Transport America with its acquisition of North Star Transport in 1998. Jerry Lee Butts, Jeffrey Eggenspiller, Fred Lerch, Charles Montgomery, Brian Tamm and Samuel Tetrick were presented with the ATA award for 1 million accident-free miles.