News From The Fleets


Transport America drivers and owner-operators helped raise money for the Minnesota Chapter of the National Multiple Sclerosis Society.

This is the 14th year that Transport America has sponsored the Noran Clinic MS Bike Tour.

Transport America drivers loaded 13 53-foot trailers with participants’ bicycles and hauled them to the starting line. A refrigerated trailer delivered food and beverages to rest areas and meal stops.

Owner-operators who participated include Dave Wickenhauser, Mark Dowd, Terry Anderson and Mark Dresser. Company drivers Pat Burns, Wayne Carlson, Keith Loging, Russ Way, Don Wilson, David Hanson, Steve Mills, Donna Strovers, Steve Job and Aron Autio also donated their time.


Dart Transit Co. named Walter Johnson, a 17-year independent contractor from Philadelphia, 2002 Contractor of the Year. At Dart, Johnson has driven 2 million miles without an accident and has a perfect record of on-time deliveries.

Johnson has testified in Washington, D.C., on truck driver safety issues and was one of nine Dart contractors to take part in a truck driver fatigue study in 2000 at Stanford University in California.

As Contractor of the Year, Johnson received a $1,000 bonus, a monogrammed leather jacket and a marble trophy.


WAL-MART STORES named Schneider National the company’s Intermodal Carrier of the Year.

PASCHALL TRUCK LINES recognized Loyd Reynolds as its Company Driver of the Month for March and Steve and Darlene Creel as the March Owner-Operator Drivers of the Month.

STAR TRANSPORTATION presented 19 drivers with safe driving awards: David Neese, Roy Cole, Shane Fernando, Brian Thur, William Isley, Marshall Dutton, Leroy Allen, John Pinyan, David Morgan, James Snapp, Lafond Booker, Henry Lane, Jimmy Patton, Robert Adkison, Thomas Steveson, Fred Pryor, Bernie Pisarchick, William White and Rico Heard.

RYDER SYSTEM gave its annual Driver of the Year awards to three drivers.
David Baba, John Finley and William Ingram will receive a five-day cruise to Key West, Fla., and Cozumel, Mexico, a trophy, and will be inducted into the Ryder Driver Hall of Fame.

Baba was named Ryder’s Fleet Management Solutions Driver of the Year 2002. Baba has driven more than 2.5 million collision-and-violation-free miles.

Finley was named Driver of the Year 2002 for Ryder’s Supply Chain Solutions business segment. Based in Olive Branch, Miss., he has driven more than 1 million safe miles.

Ingram was named Driver of the Year 2002 for Ryder’s Dedicated Contract Carriage business segment. Ingram has exceeded 4.5 million safe miles since he began driving professionally in 1968.

CONTRACT FREIGHTERS’ April Contractor of the Month is Dennis Griffin of Rockwall, Texas; the Contractor Team of the Month is David and Shirley Schrader of Everton, Mo.

Company Driver of the Month was Irvin Bybee of Merrill, Wis., and the Company Team Driver of the Month is Bill and Kristin Carr of Phoenix.

WALBASH VALLEY TRUCKING named Clint Spangler of Galesburg, Ill., as the 2002 Robert Gary Coffman Memorial Driver of the Year.

The Mt. Vernon Driver of the Year is Jeff Casteel of El Dorado, Ill. The WVT Metals Division Driver of the Year is Darryl Zackmire of Lafayette, Ind. The Shoals Driver of the Year was Russ Miller of Russell Springs, Ky. The Midwest Driver of the Year is Don Marsh of Philadelphia, Tenn.

Showcase your workhorse
Add a photo of your rig to our Reader Rigs collection to share it with your peers and the world. Tell us the story behind the truck and your business to help build its story.
Submit Your Rig
Reader Rig Submission