News From The Fleets


Union Pacific, the largest U.S. freight railroad operator, plans to sell its trucking subsidiary, Virginia-based Overnite, through an initial public stock offering. This announcement was made less than a month after two of the largest less-than-truckload carriers, Yellow and Roadway, merged to form Yellow-Roadway. Consolidated Freightways’ bankruptcy announcement last September resulted in more business for large LTL carriers.


National Van Lines recognized its top-hauling agents for 2001 and 2002: American Way Van & Storage in Dayton, Ohio; Mercury Movers in South Gate, Calif.; Rockey’s Van Lines in Killeen, Texas; and Gerber Moving & Storage in Bonner Springs, Kan.
The company also presented longevity awards: Arnell Mumford and Richard King, 10 years; Pat Kelly, 15 years; and Steven Hernandez and John and Rhona Boyce, 20 years. Judy and Ervin Marshburn were honored for 25 years and accepted a 50-year award on behalf of Gary Plummer.


Melton Truck Lines inducted eight new drivers into its Melton Ambassadors of the Road: Richard Baringer, John Hall, Alton Jackson, Brian Parnell, Dave Schindler, DeeAnn Schindler, James Thornbrugh and Steve Weaver. Ambassadors have driven 1 million miles for Melton and exhibit professionalism.


STAR TRANSPORTATION, based in Nashville, Tenn., honored 22 drivers in July with Safe Driving Awards. Recognized were: David Bleichner, 16 years; Eugene Simington, 14 years; Hilliard Herbert, 12 years; Vernon Eggleston, eight years; Floyd Kee, seven years; Gerald Emerson, seven years; Monty Novonty, six years; Tim McClelland, six years; Wade Herrell, six years; Richard Fort, five years; John Phillips, three years; Sean Taylor, one year; Dewey Hilton, one year; Robert Rodgers, one year; Jesse Barner, one year; John Huffman, one year; Terry Bennett, one year; Saidou Colley, one year; Rebecca Ladd, one year; Gregory Weller, one year; Carroll Flora, one year; and James Williams, one year.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers
The ALL NEW Rand Tablet
Presented by Rand McNally

COVENANT TRANSPORT recently honored team drivers, Johnnie and Alimeda Adams with the 3 Million Mile Safety Award. The Tonkawa, Okla., residents have been with Covenant for 13 years.

MAVERICK TRANSPORTATION’S recent Driver of the Month winners are: Bob Davis of Wynne, Ark., April; Sid Brewster of Buffalo, Mo., May; and LeRoy Twisdale of Little Rock, Ark., June.

FEDEX CUSTOM CRITICAL honored 50 of its top owner-operators with the 2003 Four Star Award, which recognizes safety and service. Winners were treated to three nights at the Ritz-Carlton Hotel in Cleveland.

CELADON GROUP drivers who were awarded the Master Truck Driver Award from the Indiana Motor Truck Association are: Jimmy Wayne Brown of Hartselle, Ala.; Andrew Boyd Wilson of LaPorte, Texas; Jessie Greers of Baconton, Ga.; and Mark Sexton of Ocala, Fla. The award recognizes safety and other professional accomplishments.

CONTRACT FREIGHTER’S Contractor of the Month for May was Michael Padilla of El Paso, Texas, who joined CFI in 1999. Contractor Team of the Month was Jamie and Leisl Groover of Haskell, Ohio. Company Driver of the Month was Andrew Quiritt of El Paso, Texas, who joined CFI in 1995. Company Team of the Month was John Dotzler and Alicia Cardenas. Dotlzler is from Manassas, Va., and Cardenas lives in Las Cruces, N.M.