News From The Fleets


Dot Transportation earned first place in the 2002 National Safety Contest sponsored by the American Trucking Associations and the ATA Safety & Loss Prevention Management Council.

The award is based on the frequency of vehicle accidents per million miles traveled; DTI’s 0.38 per million frequency led its division of General Commodities Truckload/Line Haul, Between 50 million to 100 million miles. DTI drivers logged nearly 52 million miles last year with only 20 recordable accidents.


Atlas Van Lines won an award in the household goods carriers category in the 20th annual Quest for Quality survey, conducted by Logistics Management magazine. It is the sixth consecutive year for Atlas to receive the award.

FedEx Freight, a less-than-truckload carrier, was recognized for service, reliability and on-time performance in the magazine’s multiregional and interregional LTL carrier categories. In addition, FedEx Freight also won the Quest for Quality award in the Western Regional LTL Carrier category.

While this is the first year FedEx Freight has been recognized under its current brand name in the Quest for Quality survey, FedEx Freight East and FedEx Freight West have won 18 and 11 Quest for Quality awards, respectively.


Owens Corning’s first National Driver Appreciation Award was presented to Beau Baldwin, an owner-operator with Dart Transit. Baldwin was given the “Leave the Driving To Us” award, a vacation prize worth $2,000.

Beau purchased his first tractor in August and joined the Dart Advantage team. He won the award when one of his hauls was picked at random from some 9,500 van, flatbed and tanker shipments made by Owens Corning in North America during National Driver Appreciation Week in August. Beau plans a camping trip to the Carolinas with his fiancée.


Schneider National has been named a Chrysler Group Gold Award winner for 2002, one of five winners in the truckload category. The award recognizes suppliers for cost, quality, technology and delivery.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers

Schneider also increased its owner-operator pay to 86 cents per mile (solo) and 84 cents per mile (team). The company driver team premium will increase to 5 cents per mile.


Steven “Scooby” and Karen Schoonover are Contractors of the Year for 2002 at Dart Transit’s Dallas Operating Center. The Schoonovers received $1,000 and other prizes.

CFI’s August Contractor of the Month was Luciano Benitez, Jr. of Kennedy, Texas. Contractor Team of the Month went to Garlan and Sylvia Yoder of Broadway, Va. Company Driver of the Month was Ricky Norman of Big Sandy, Texas. The Company Team Drivers of the Month award went to Carl and Beck Holt of San Antonio.

Paschall Truck Lines named Ted Rymsza as the Owner-Operator of the Month for June and Terry Soenksen as Company Driver of the Month.

TMC Transportation honored Terry Babbs, Alan Wiegard and Louis Steele with the Driver of the Quarter Award for the first, second and third quarters of 2003, respectively.