News From The Fleets

Maverick Transportation has acquired Parrett Trucking of Scottsboro, Ala. Parrett, operating 140 tractors, is primarily an owner-operator company and will operate as Parrett Trucking LLC. Mike Parrett, president and founder, will serve as president of the new company.

Averitt Express, a freight transportation and supply chain management provider, received the 2003 Quality Carrier Award from Jostens Inc., a manufacturer of school yearbooks in Winston-Salem, N.C.

The award, which Averitt earned for the seventh consecutive year, is based on fewest claims, on-time service and other criteria.

Carl Puline, an independent contractor with Bay & Bay Transfer, was given a custom-made gold Bay & Bay watch for recruiting six new drivers and contractors to the company. Maverick driver Tommy Payne of South Roxana, Ill., received a flat-bottom boat, motor and trailer for referrals made during February, March, and April.

Georgia Competition
Overnite Transportation company driver David Creamer, who is based in Atlanta, won top honors at the Georgia State Truck Driving Championships.

Wheaton World Wide Moving honored eight Drivers of the Month for March and April.

Randy Mann, of Indianapolis, and Steve Moskowitz, who drives for North County Moving and Storage, Escondido, Calif., earned the award in the permanent fleet section for March. Terry Marion, with Smoky Mountain Moving Service in Sevierville, Tenn., and Johnny Shelton, from Crown Moving and Storage, Indianapolis, were chosen for the intermittent fleet in March.

Andres Alvarado of Los Angeles and Jimmy Funkhouser of Indianapolis earned permanent fleet recognition in April. Edward Wissell, of Alabama We-Haul Movers, Huntsville, Ala., and Steve York, with Preferred Moving and Storage in Clinton Township, Mich., were honored in April for the intermittent fleet.

All Freight drivers Richard and Terri Rush of Barnett, Mo., were recognized by the Kansas Motor Carriers Association as June 2003 Team Drivers of the Month.

The Rushes, who have been with All Freight for 18 years, normally run from Kansas City to the West Coast.

Sitton Motor Lines awarded David Tackitt of Annapolis, Mo., its 2003 Driver of the Year. Tackitt has been a company driver for Sitton since 2001 and was named July 2003 Driver of the Month. Tackitt was assigned a special 2004 Freightliner with custom lettering. Also honored were first runner-up Anthony Barnett of Crescent, Okla., and second runner-up Fred Guthrie of Independence, Mo. They were rewarded with a U.S. Savings Bond, custom lettering on their trucks and personalized jackets.

Twenty-one Star Transportation drivers were honored in April with safe driving awards: William Clark, 20 years; Kennith Riggs, 13 years; Ben Brackett, 11 years; Jay Thompson, nine years; Vernon Jordan, six years; Rickie McFarland, six years; Richard Hill, five years; Clint Kennedy, four years; Jeffery Phillips, four years; and Randy Leffingwell, three years. Honored for two years were Jason Hess, William Gibbs, David Breeland, Hiram Edwards and Johnny Cates. Honored for one year were John Matthews, Oscar McPherson, Karl Brown, Dominic Dundic, Emory Longs and Allen Hensley.

The Business Manual for Owner-Operators
Overdrive editors and ATBS present the industry’s best manual for prospective and committed owner-operators. You’ll find exceptional depth on many issues in the 2022 edition of Partners in Business.
Partners in Business Issue Cover