News from the fleets

CalArk International is launching a refrigerated division to serve the continental United States with dedicated and long-haul freight.

CalArk, based in Mabelvale, Ark., was founded in 1975. The company’s terminals are in Little Rock, Ark.; Hurricane Mills, Tenn.; and Laredo and Garland, Texas.

Several trucking and logistics companies were honored at the third annual GPSNet Technologies Expedite Alliance Conference.

Among the winners: Bolt Express was named 2005 Highest Revenue Growth Carrier of the Year. The Toledo, Ohio, company also placed Fifth for On-Time Performance Company of the Year and was named a small company Honorable Mention.

Other winners were: Freedom Transportation Group, On-Time Performance; ASAP Express, Paperwork Check In; Redline Logistics, Fastest Start-up Company; Taylor Made Express, Most Loads Brokered to Other Carriers; and C&M Transport, for Most Loads Brokered From Other Companies.

Flatbed carrier Arrow Trucking increased its pay 4 cents per mile for a maximum base rate of 44 cents per mile for all company line-haul drivers, counting an incentive bonus of more than 2 cents per mile for drivers who average a minimum of 10,000 safe miles each month.

Independent contractor base-rate pay will increase 6 percent, to 90 cents.

The Tulsa, Okla., carrier plans to purchase 200 new Kenworth and International tractors this year.

Overnite Transportation recently named 14 drivers to its 2006 All-Star Road Team: Rafael Cano, Brian Cooke, Don Cooper, Larry Emig, Robert Hess, Tray Hudgens, Joseph Johnson, Alan Kendrick, Jerry Manning, Eddie Meadows, Sherman Moore, Tony Myers, Scott Raper and Joe Warren.

Collectively, the drivers have logged 15 million accident-free miles. They also will train new drivers in the national Highway Watch program. Overnite is a subsidiary of UPS.

Contract Freighters Inc. named its 2005 Drivers of the Year: Marvin Peck, contractor driver; John and Sharon Dillinger, contractor team; Richard Norman, company driver; Mark and Peggy Dahlberg, company team. Winners receive a cash prise.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers

December honorees were: Ned Darrow, contractor driver; Stacy and Donna Moran, contractor team; Donald “Gene” Dollar, company driver; and Michael and Loetta Ruyf, company team.

MAVERICK TRANSPORTATION named Tom Douglas of New Philadelphia, Ohio, its 2005 Driver of the Year. He receives an extra week of vacation, a $2,500 bonus and a leather jacket.

J.B. HUNT TRANSPORT SERVICES was named 2005 Intermodal Provider of the Year by Lowe’s Cos. This is the third consecutive year the carrier has received the honor.

DART TRANSIT owner-operator Charles Bishop was honored by the National Safety Council for driving 3 million accident-free miles. The Buffalo, N.Y., resident has been driving for Dart since 1982.

CELADON TRUCKING won the Truckload Carriers Association’s National Fleet Safety Award among carriers that haul more than 100 million miles annually. The carrier placed first for the second consecutive year.

Showcase your workhorse
Add a photo of your rig to our Reader Rigs collection to share it with your peers and the world. Tell us the story behind the truck and your business to help build its story.
Submit Your Rig
Reader Rig Submission