News from the fleets

Dart Transit Co. is raising its per-mile pay for owner-operators in two steps this year. The first increase took effect April 1; the second begins Oct. 1.

The increases are worth $2,400 to $3,600 or more per year, depending on miles driven and type of haul. Coupled with increases in 2005 and 2004, the pay increases total $10,000 per year.

Sloan Transportation is opening a warehouse in Portland, Ore., to serve customers in California, Colorado, Idaho, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Western Canada. The Holland, Mich., company says the facility will reduce shipment costs and cut shipping times to and from the West Coast by two days.

East Coast petroleum hauler Eagle Transport opened a terminal in Charlotte, N.C., and plans to open terminals in Tampa, Fla., and Roanoke, Va.

Marten Transport named its February Drivers of the Month, who receive a $25 bonus: David Barnes, Robert Beech, Brian Bomberger, Bob Bowersock, Richard Canada, Stacy Duran, James Durham, John and Beth Eder, Vernon Gentry, Robert Granger, Floyd Haynes, Edward Hildebrand II, Doug Hughes, David Jacobson, Stephen Johnson, Dilbag Kaile, Chris Keratzedes, Michele Lemasters, Devella Martin, Jeff McGinnis, James Mitrano, Greg Mosier, William Overman, Corey Pace, Elvin Peters, Charles Prince, Tim Rascoe, Mark Snell, Dwayne Stroman, Ron Tawzer, Leonard Thompson, Greg Weems, Dennis Wells, Tim Wetzstein, Jon White and Kenneth White.

Penske Truck Leasing is sponsoring Kurt Busch, the 2004 NASCAR Nextel Cup Series champion, in a limited NASCAR Busch Series schedule this year.

Busch will drive the No. 39 Penske Truck Rental Dodge, its color scheme modeled after Penske’s bright-yellow rental trucks.

The Dodge will appear in six races.

DART TRANSIT named its Drivers of the Year: Walt Newcomb from its Eagan, Minn., operating center and Woodrow Walker from its Dallas operating center. Each received a trophy, $1,000 and a personalized leather jacket.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers

MAVERICK TRANSPORTATION honored driver Billy Williams of Alton, Ill., for driving 15 accident-free years. He received a plaque and a leather jacket.

ROEHL TRANSPORT was named the leading for-hire carrier at the American Trucking Associations’ 2005 Truck Safety Awards.

SUNCO CARRIERS named Steve Jacoby its 2005 Owner-Operator of the Year. Jacoby is in the Florida intrastate fleet.

TMC TRANSPORTATION awarded its 2005 Wheel Master Award to company driver William Bush. He has been with TMC since 1989.

WSE TRANSPORTATION named Jimmie Gilyard of Muskogee, Okla., Owner-Operator Driver of the Year and James Loveland of Mobile, Ala., Company Driver of the Year.

SMITH TRANSPORT named Brian Musselman 2005 Driver of the Year. He won a leather jacket, a trophy and $1,500.

DECKER TRUCK LINE named its March Drivers of the Month: Dwight Elm of Coon Rapids, Iowa, from the reefer/van division; and Joe Lax of Orion, Ill., a driver trainer, from the flatbed.