News from the fleets

Nebraska-based Crete Carrier Corp. is building a $5.4 million terminal in the Knoxville-Oak Ridge area of Tennessee. The facility is expected to create 50 jobs.

Karel Znamenacek, Crete executive vice president, called the site west of Knoxville “a perfect location for us, next to Interstates 40 and 75, where a lot of our trucks operate.”

The terminal will include eight service bays and, for drivers, a lunch room and bunk room.

Schneider National is launching domestic carrier and logistics operations in the People’s Republic of China.

“We see this as a great opportunity for customers in China, whether they be foreign-invested companies or Chinese-based businesses,” said Martin Winchell, managing director of Schneider Logistics China. “We will now be able to help customers build out their intra-China network and grow their business in the various provinces.”

Schneider Logistics (Tianjin) Co. Ltd. will offer domestic transportation, warehousing, cross-docking and third-party logistics through offices in the Tianjin Economic Technological Development area in northern China. Schneider has offered supply-chain consulting from its office in Shanghai since 2005.

Six drivers were inducted into Decker Truck Line’s Million Mile Team: Kenneth Harden, William Locke, William Pena, Mark Tracy, Daniel Welsh and Charlie Wilson.

Recognized for reaching 2 million miles were Larry Beasley, Mark Gombert, Rodney Graves, Eric Jensvold, Donald Lee, Richard Muessigmann, Art Renken, Tom Weiss and Jerome Ziemet. Five drivers surpassed 3 million miles: Allen Chapman, Marty Delay, Steve Jones, Paul Newman and Maurice Olson.

Averitt Express has opened a service center in Milwaukee.

The 450-square-foot expansion enables Averitt to cut a day off transit times to the South and offer new pricing options.

Cookeville, Tenn.-based Averitt now offers next-day service from Milwaukee to Louisville, Ky., Memphis, Tenn., and Nashville, and second-day service to Dallas, Atlanta, Charlotte, N.C., and Orlando, Fla.

CTL TRANSPORTATION awarded its 2006 Bull Dog of the Year award to Kenny Dawson. CTL also named Lloyd Harrell its January Bull Dog winner.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers
The ALL NEW Rand Tablet
Presented by Rand McNally

MAVERICK TRANSPORTATION named Lee Hammond its 2006 Driver of the Year.

WARREN TRANSPORT driver Steve Recker was named to the 2007 Iowa Road Team. Fellow Warren driver Gustavo Cantu was named the company’s December Driver of the Month.

TRANSPORT AMERICA honored December Drivers of the Month: Jeffrey Atwell, Gail Daugherty, Alan Leitzen, Jerry Nelson, Emanuel Owusu and Gery Schonhart.

HOEKSTRA TRANSPORTATION honored Ron Leoni as its 2006 Driver of the Year.

DECKER TRUCK LINE named its January Drivers of the Month: Mike Juhl, flatbed division, and Rodney Knapp, reefer/van division.

WSE TRANSPORTATION honored its 2006 Drivers of the Year: Harold Connell, owner-operator; Joe Wiggins, company driver; Rex and Connie Kiesser, team drivers; and Edward McAlpine, trainer.

CONTRACT FREIGHTERS INC. honored driver Delmar Hale for reaching 3 million miles.

CON-WAY FREIGHT honored driver Steve Freitag for reaching 2 million accident-free miles.