Fleet Focus – March 20091

Con-way announces Drivers of the Year

Joplin, Mo.-based truckload carrier Con-way Truckload inducted Drivers of the Year into the fleet’s Truckload Hall of Fame recently. Winners are George Cook, Company Driver; Alfred and Jennifer Sidwell, Company Team; Jon Smith, Contractor; and Gary and Nora Bulen, Contractor Team. “Our Drivers of the Year represent the top of an already elite group of previous award winners,” said Herb Schmidt, fleet president. “Their professionalism and safe driving practices set them apart as great role models who are well-deserving of our company’s highest recognition.”

Nexus Distribution, based in Bedford Park, Ill., is opening a distribution center for Wausau Paper’s commercial print segment. The distribution hub is expected to create 50 to 60 jobs in Cook County, Ill.

Hill Bros. Transportation, a temperature-controlled and dry van carrier based in Omaha, Neb., has been named ConAgra Foods’ 2008 Temperature Carrier of the Year. . .Commercial carrier Ruan Tranport Corp. recently received a merit award from Johnson Controls to improve customer satisfaction. . . Schneider National is one of 61 of Procter & Gamble’s suppliers that won the manufacturer’s first-time Excellence Award . . . Transport America, based in Eagan, Minn., honored company drivers Terry Hart, Chuck Horzewsky, Daniel Kaylor, Emily Perla, Damien Runser and Daniel Tomaw.

Old Dominion Freight Line Inc. recently announced relocation of its Ypsilanti, Mich., service center from 5070 Carpenter Road to a 30-door facility on five acres at 5345 W. Michigan St.