DOT awards university grants

The U.S. Department of Transportation has announced more than $18.7 million in grants to 11 University Transportation Centers that are using new technologies and developing innovative approaches to improve transportation systems.

The awards were made by DOT’s Research and Innovative Technology Administration. UTCs conduct research that directly supports DOT priorities and are a critical part of the national transportation strategy.

Among the recipients are the Infrastructure Technology Institute at Northwestern University in Evanston, Ill.; the Oklahoma Transportation Center; the Oregon Transportation Research and Education Consortium, a partnership among Portland State University, the University of Oregon, Oregon State University and the Oregon Institute of Technology; the National Center for Freight and Infrastructure Research and Education at University of Wisconsin-Madison; and the University Transportation Center based at the City University of New York, a consortium of 12 major universities from the states of New York and New Jersey as well as Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Also receiving grants are the Georgia Transportation Institute/University Transportation Center; the Midwest Transportation Consortium, at Iowa State University; the Eastern Seaboard Intermodal Transportation Applications Center at Hampton University; the Nevada Transportation Research Center at the University of Nevada-Las Vegas; the Center for Transportation and the Environment at North Carolina State University; and  the Michigan Ohio University Transportation Center, a consortium of five universities.

UTCs maintain vital partnerships with regional, state and local transportation agencies to help find solutions to challenges facing local communities. For more information, go to